Mechanical Engineering faculty directory

Ernesto Penado
Ernesto Penado
Professor and Chair, Department of Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 928-523-9453
E-mail: Ernesto.Penado@nau.edu
Profile page 

Areas of research interest
  • Composite Materials
  • Finite Element Analysis
  • Fracture Mechanics
  • Solid Mechanics

Thomas Acker
Thomas Acker
Professor
Phone: 928-523-8363
E-mail: Tom.Acker@nau.edu
Profile page 

Areas of research interest
  • Wind Energy Systems and Wind Integration
  • Renewable Energy Systems
  • Viscous and Inviscid Fluid Mechanics
  • Combustion-Driven Acoustic Instabilities
  • Statistical Thermodynamics
  • Aerodynamics
  • Compressible Gas Dynamics
  • Thermal-Fluid System Analysis

Constantin Ciocanel
Constantin Ciocanel
Associate Professor
Phone: 928-523-2439
E-mail: Constantin.Ciocanel@nau.edu
Profile page

Areas of research interest
  • Smart materials and their applications
  • Magnetorheological fluids
  • Magnetic shape memory alloys
  • Piezoelectric materials
  • Electro/magneto active polymers

BryanCooperriderSmaller

   Bryan Cooperrider
   Director, Design4Practice Program (D4P)
   E-mail: Bryan.Cooperrider@nau.edu

Heidi P. Feigenbaum


Heidi P. Feigenbaum
Assistant Professor
Phone: 928-523-5326
E-mail: Heidi.Feigenbaum@nau.edu
Profile page

Areas of research interest
  • Plasticity modeling
  • Continuum mechanics
  • Turbulence modeling
  • Constitutive modeling of adaptive materials

/assets/0/122/139/6442451427/6442451198/e5c60dc9-127e-420d-8a32-45e247b729a7.jpg

   Robert Morgan
   Instructor, Design4Practice Program (D4P)
   Phone: 928-523-8504
   E-mail: Robert.Morgan@nau.edu
   Profile page


 Brent NelsonBrent Nelson
Assistant Professor
Phone: 928-523-0862
E-mail: Brent.Nelson@nau.edu
Profile page 
 

Areas of research interest
  • Multidisciplinary Collaboration
  • Applications of Atomic Force Microscopy
  • Biomimetic Design
  • Biomaterials Characterization
  • Thermal Characterization of Battery Performance
  • Micro/Nanoscale Thermal Transport
  • Nanomaterials Characterization
  • Renewable Energy Systems

DaveRichter

   David Richter
   Lecturer, Design4Practice Program (D4P)
   E-mail: David.Richter@nau.edu

 

Michael Shafer

   Michael Shafer, Ph.D.
   Assistant Professor
   E-mail: Michael.Shafer@nau.edu
   Profile page 

John Tester  
John Tester
Associate Professor
E-mail: John.Tester@nau.edu
Profile page 
 

Areas of research interest
  • Automotive emissions and performance
  • Engineering Education
  • Rapid prototyping
  • CAD/CAM applications
  • General manufacturing processes

Peter Vadasz  
Peter Vadasz
Professor
Phone: 928-523-5843
E-mail: Peter.Vadasz@nau.edu
Profile page

Areas of research interest
  • Heat and Mass Transfer and Fluid Dynamics
  • Nanotechnology - Nano-Heat Transfer
  • Bioengineering
  • Transport Phenomena in Porous Media
  • Nonlinear Dynamics - Stability, Bifurcations and Routes to Chaos

/assets/0/122/139/6442451427/6442451198/cf50babc-208e-48aa-b850-7d4d1b19e5d7.jpg

   David Michael Willy
   Instructor
   Phone: 928-523-5322
   E-mail: David.Willy@nau.edu
   Profile page

Areas of research interest
  • Computational Fluid Dynamics
  • Compressible Gas Dynamics
  • Wind Turbine Aerodynamics
  • Renewable Energy Integration
  • Solar Resource/PV Power Variability
  • Energy Storage

Srinivas Kosaraju(1)

   Srinivas Kosaraju, Ph.D.
   Lecturer
   Email: Srinivas.Kosaraju@nau.edu     

 

/assets/0/122/139/6442451427/6442451198/4f6a938f-927e-40ec-8df0-173b17c840f6.jpg

   Timothy Becker, Ph.D.
   Lecturer
   Phone: 928-523-1468
   Email: Tim.Becker@nau.edu

Perry Wood, P.E. 

Perry Wood, P.E.
Instructor/Manufacturing Lab Manager/ASME Faculty advisor
E-mail: Perry.Wood@nau.edu
Machine ShopASME