Instructional Leadership, emphasis: K-12 School Leadership (MEd)
A photo of student walking on the Yuma campus.

Flinn Scholars Program

Flinn Scholars eligibility

The Flinn Scholarship Program, sponsored by the Flinn Foundation, is a highly competitive, merit-based scholarship opportunity for exceptional Arizona resident undergraduate students who enroll at any of the three state universities upon graduation from high school.

Flinn Designated Scholars, Flinn Semifinalists, and Flinn Finalists who attend NAU will be offered the following NAU Flinn awards:

Flinn Designated Scholars, Flinn Semifinalists & Flinn Finalists

  • Amount: $15,000 per year
  • Renewal: available for four (4) years (eight semesters) of consecutive enrollment
  • Tuition: 100 percent of tuition for four consecutive academic years (fall and spring) are covered
  • Honors College fees: anticipated scholarship of $1200 to apply toward mandatory fees for four consecutive academic years
  • Housing or meals: After 100 percent of tuition and Honors Scholarship award are applied, the remaining award balance applies toward housing or meal plan if living on campus

Awards not to exceed NAU’s commitment of $15,000 per academic year (fall and spring). This award cannot be combined with other tuition scholarships.

How to apply

Be designated as one of the following by the Flinn Foundation:

  • Flinn Semi-Finalist
  • Flinn Finalist
  • Flinn Scholar

Please visit the Flinn Foundation for more information about the program and eligibility criteria.

Eligibility criteria

  • First degree: this award may only be used for a student’s first bachelor’s degree
  • Tuition only: covers 100 percent of tuition for four (4) years/eight semesters; does not cover mandatory fees or other academic program fees.
  • Deadline: Your NAU admission offer must be accepted and the enrollment deposit must be paid by May 1 for the following academic year. Certain exceptions may allow this deadline to be extended to June 1. The award must be used beginning in the fall of the year following designation as a Flinn Semifinalist, Flinn Finalist, or Flinn Scholar.
  • Students are considered for these awards upon submitting the appropriate documentation required by each award. A separate application is not required.
  • Flagstaff campus only: NAU Online and statewide campus students are not eligible.

Renewal criteria

  • Renewable for four consecutive academic years, applied to the fall and spring semesters only, provided the student meets the renewal criteria each year.
  • Maintain a minimum 3.0 cumulative GPA.
  • Maintain full-time course enrollment (12+ hours per semester). Note: Repeated courses do not count toward the academic level progression requirement.
  • If circumstances prevent you from meeting any of the renewal criteria, submit a Scholarship Reinstatement Request by the priority date for the applicable semester. Submission of this request does not guarantee award reinstatement.