How to give

Your contributions are valued and support the mission of the department to serve our students and expand their educational opportunities.

Giving is a simple, three step process:

  • choose where you would like your contribution to go from the list below
  • follow the Social and Behavioral Science link to the giving form
  • fill out the form, naming your preferred fund or scholarship

Chair's Innovation Fund

The Chair's Innovation Fund is used to support:

  • new students
  • faculty
  • departmental initiatives

Some items recently funded include receptions and new technology to record department events and to keep in touch with department alumni and friends. Your support of this fund means the department can continue to pursue new, innovative, creative ways of meeting student and faculty needs. Help support creative endeavors by giving to the Chair's Innovation Fund.

Earl Shaw Memorial Scholarship

This scholarship honors the memory of L. Earl Shaw, Jr., a political science faculty member who passed away in April 2002.  Dr. Shaw had a strong belief in human potential, and he encouraged his students to strive to achieve their own greatness.

Theodore Wyckoff Scholarship

This scholarship honors the memory of Theodore Wyckoff, a political science faculty member who passed away in 1993.  It is available to international affairs and political science majors with an international emphasis. 

Political Science Scholarship

This scholarship, also known as the William L. Strauss award, is available to students studying:

  • political science
  • international affairs
  • American political studies

The scholarship is most frequently awarded to political science and American political studies majors. 

Jack and Ruby Vaughn Internship Scholarship

This scholarship, established in 2000, is available to a political science graduate students.

The department may award this scholarship to more than one student. This decision is dependent upon the amount of funding available that year.