NAU Speech and Debate Team


Watch Video: NAU Speech and Debate

Video Accessibility Instructions:

These video instructions are located directy above a YouTube video. Hit the DOWN arrow key until you hear the words FLASH START. Once the screen reader is inside the FLASH OBJECT, hit the TAB key about 7 times until you hear PLAY BUTTON a second time. Hit the Spacebar key to play the video. You can then hit the Spacebar key again to pause the video. Feel free to hit TAB and TAB+SHIFT to listen to all the buttons in the FLASH OBJECT. Sometimes the PLAY button and the PAUSE button will be listed as an UNLABLED BUTTON.

NAU Forensics is a competitive student team that practices and competes at local, regional, and national speech and debate tournaments each year.  Our goal is to improve students’ skills in speaking, listening, research and writing, and reasoning through hands-on practice and competition.  Our students compete in British Parliamentary, Parliamentary, and Lincoln-Douglas debate, along with individual speech events included in the American Forensics Association.  NAU’s team prides itself on being a nationally competitive and recognized team.

Check out how the team is doing on our Facebook page for up-to-date info and events.

Coaching Staff

Dayle Hardy-Short

Director of Forensics  

Caitlyn Burford

Associate Director of Forensics               

Jess Ayers

Graduate Assistant of Forensics

Emily Shaffer

Current Student Competitors

2016-2017 Season

Alicia Batice

Courtney Burns

Dallas Diaz

John Nick Julian

Danielle LeBlanc

Frankie Lichorobiec

Riley McAuliffe

Madeline Ramirez

Heaven Smythe

Alec Thanig

Anthony Violissi

Graduated Student Competitors and Alumni

2015-2016 Season

Jaycee Dalporto

Daniela Figueroa

Kathryn Heffernon

Javier Herrera

Tyler Julian

Jessica Mendoza

Kendra Straub

2014-2015 Season

Madison Anglin

Isabel Barrios

Jaynee Baxla

Timorie Coleman

Jessica Fisk

Emily Graham

Breanna Guzman

Annamarie Martin

Alex Saquella

Elaine Zimpleman


2013-2014 Season 

Brandon Rivera

Nick Stump

Meaghan McGill


2012-2013 Season

Tracy Valgento

Alyssa Sambor


2016 Team Year End
2015-2016 Competitive Team