Academic Standards Committee

The Academic Standards Committee (ASC) is a subcommittee of the Faculty Senate, with representation from each college, as well as service offices involved in the enforcement of academic policy.  The ASC was established to review undergraduate policies and maintain the academic standards of the university, while recognizing that special circumstances may occasionally warrant an exception to a policy.

Exceptions to undergraduate academic policy are allowed only when there are documented, extenuating circumstances that had a negative impact on a student’s ability to adhere to university policy.

If you are a graduate student requesting a waiver to university policy, you should contact the subcommittee of the University Graduate Committee.



Read the Academic Standards Committee bylaws, effective 10/10/2017.


Meeting Dates and Materials

Meeting dates, agendas and minutes for ASC Meetings.


Academic Standard Committee Members

Meet the Academic Standards Committee Members
College Voting Members Representing Term Expires 
Registrar's OfficeIan Wischmeier - ChairRegistrar's Office2018
CALCamarin PorterHistory2017-18
CALLuke PlonskySchool of Music2018
CEFNSTerry CritesMathematics & Statistics2017-18
CEFNSVACANTCivil Engineering, Construction Management2019
COENicole Hampton Educational Specialties2017-18
COEPamela PowellACC2018
COEGuy SeneseEducational Leadership2018
FCBMargaret DunfeeW. A. Franke College of Business2019
FCBKathy SavageAccounting2019-20
HHSTarang JainPhysical Therapy/Athletic Training2021
HHSSamantha CallahanDental Hygiene2020
Honors CollegeGlenn HansenHonors College2019
NAU OnlineAlma SandigoYuma - Education2019
SBSVictoria Jean PickettSchool of Communication2018
SBSMohamed MohamedSociology & Social Work2017
Administrative Office Office Representatives  Representing Term Expires 
Academic Chairs CouncilPam PowellAcademic Chairs Council2017-2018
AthleticsMichael KallsenAthletics 
Associate DeansJohn MasseriniGraduate College2017
ASNAURonnie Marks 2017
CIECourtney Luque JacobsonCenter for International Education2018
NAU Online and Community CampusesStephenie JeromeNAU Online and Community Campuses2017
Registrar Lucy HeggRegistrar’s Office2017-18
Student Affairs (Student Life)Cindy AndersonEducational Support2017
Veteran and Military ServicesPete YankaStudent Life 
College / Office Ex-Officio Members Representing  
Accounting Services (Bursar)Jaime SmithStudent Accounts2017-18
Associate DeansJohn MasseriniGraduate College2017
Enrollment Management Amanda CorneliusFinancial Aid2017
OCLDAAMargery SorensenOCLDAA 
Provost’s OfficePauline EntinVP-Academic Affairs 
VPAA OfficeDaniella WatsonSecretary2015-18