Teaching Academy

President’s Distinguished Teaching Fellows/
Teaching Academy board

The President’s Distinguished Teaching Fellowship is awarded annually to outstanding teaching scholars who have made a significant impact on undergraduate learning at Northern Arizona University.

The recipients are appointed for three years, and also serve as the Board of the Northern Arizona University Teaching Academy. Fellows may reapply for an additional three year term.  The call for nominations is issued each September through the Office of the Provost.

Sanjam Ahluwalia (Appointed 2017)
Women's & Gender Studies

Alex Alvarez (Appointed 2013)
Criminology & Criminal Justice

Beverly Amer (Appointed 2016)
W.A. Franke College of Business

Jeff Berglund (Appointed 2008) 
Department of English, Director of Liberal Studies

Geeta Chowdhry (Appointed 2008, deceased) 
Politics & International Affairs

Brandon Cruickshank (Appointed 2008) 
Chemistry & Biochemistry

Laurie Dickson (Appointed in 2013)
Psychological Sciences, Vice Provost Teaching, Learning, Design & Assessment

Laura Gray-Rosendale (Appointed 2009) 
Department of English

Shannon Guerrero (Appointed 2017)
Mathematics and Statistics

Cynthia Hartzell (Appointed 2011)
Chemistry and Biochemistry

Michelle Miller (Appointed 2011) 
Psychological Sciences

Patricia Murphey (Appointed 2016)
Visual Communication

Sheila Nair (Appointed 2011) 
Politics & International Affairs

Mary Reid (Appointed 2010) 
School of Earth Sciences and Environmental Sustainability

Anne Scott (Appointed 2013)
Department of English

Pamela Stephens (appointed in 2015)
School of Art

John Tingerthal (Appointed 2015)
Construction Management

Miguel Vasquez (Appointed 2009)
Department of Anthropology

Andrew Walters (Appointed 2014)
Psychological Sciences

Gioia Woods (Appointed 2013)
Comparative Cultural Studies

Academy Members

The Academy's members have been recognized by their colleges as instructional leaders and are appointed for three-year terms.

Scott Anderson
School of Earth Sciences & Environmental Studies

Emily Babcock
Physician Assistant Studies

Jody Bartz
Educational Specialties

Galen Collins
School of Hotel & Restaurant Management

Yan Mandy Dang
W. A. Franke College of Business

Nora Dunbar
Psychological Sciences

Mary Harmon
Communication Sciences and Disorders

Ching-Hsun Huang
School of Forestry

Kaitlin Hublitz
Academic Transition Programs

Alyce Jordan
Comparative Cultural Studies

Monica Lininger
Physical Therapy & Athletic Training

Rosemary Logan
First Year Seminar

T. Mark Montoya
Ethnic Studies

Jason Myrowitz

Brent Nelson
Mechanical Engineering

Robert Neustadt
Global Languages and Cultures

Glenn Phelps
Politics and International Affairs

Karen Renner

Wade Rousse

George Rudebusch

Alma Sandigo

Claire Schonaerts
Teaching and Learning

Nora Timmerman
Sustainable Communities

Francisco Villa

Gerald Wood
Educational Leadership

Affiliate Members

Previous Academy members who chose to continue beyond their three-year term.

David Allen

Melissa Birkett
Psychological Sciences

Terry Blows
Mathematics and Statistics

Paul Donnelly
Comparative Cultural Studies

Kathy Eastwood
Physics and Astronomy

Mac Groves

Robert Henderson
Health Sciences

Chris Lanterman
Educational Specialties 

Karen Mueller 
Physical Therapy

David Pierotti
Biological Sciences

Pamela Powell
College of Education

Miguel Vasquez 
Department of Anthropology