Committed to Native American Academic Success

If you are a prospective or enrolled Native American student in the College of Health and Human Services, we have a variety of resources to help you during your academic journey. As part of the College’s Native Journey to Academic Success (NJAcS) program, you’ll benefit from faculty mentoring, cultural support, and financial assistance for your education.

History of the program

The NJAcS program is supported by a grant from the John and Sophie Ottens Foundation. The Ottens Foundation has supported the health and well-being of Native Americans, including educational programs and initiatives for Native American students for the past eighteen years.

Program goals

  1. Attract Native American students to CHHS health professions programs by encouraging Native American alumni and current students to visit middle and high schools.
  2. Retain Native American students enrolled in CHHS programs by creating an environment that supports the cultural, social, and academic needs of Native American students.
  3. Provide cultural awareness training for NAU faculty, staff, and students.

What we do for you

Recruitment 

  • Dream Catcher Middle School mentoring 
  • Dream Catcher Middle School career shadowing 

Academic support

  • Faculty mentoring
  • Peer mentoring
  • Peer tutoring
  • Study group

Cultural activities

  • Talking circle
  • Elder storytelling
  • Cultural presentations

Vouchers for Financial Assistance

Contact us: Faculty Academy

To learn more about the NJACS program, contact a member of our Faculty Academy.

Communication Sciences and Disorders

Judith King
928-523-7436
Judith.King@nau.edu 

Kristan Culbertson
928-523-8619
Kristan.Culbertson@nau.edu

Michelle Thomas
928-523-7439
Michelle.Thomas2@nau.edu

Dental Hygiene

Tracye Moore
928-523-6038
Tracye.Moore@nau.edu  

Health Sciences

Dirk De Heer
928-523-1499
Hendrik.deHeer@nau.edu

Occupational Therapy

Patricia Crist
602-827-2521
Patricia.Crist@nau.edu

Physician Assistant Studies

Richard Dehn
602-827-2421
Richard.Dehn@nau.edu

Physical Therapy & Athletic Training

Petra Williams
928-523-7434
Petra.Williams@nau.edu  

Nursing

Vicki Black-Bishop
928-523-8774
Vicki.Black-Bishop@nau.edu 

Regina Eddie
928-523-5437
Regina.Eddie@nau.edu