Upcoming School of Music Events

School of Music Short Display

Click each link to expand or collapse listings for that month.

September 2016
  • Wednesday, Sep. 7, the NAU School of Music Guest Artist Series presents Katie McLin, violin, Lauren Jacobson, Clarinet, and Andrew Campbell, piano, Ashurst Hall, 7:30 p.m., Free Admission.
  • Thursday, Sep. 8, School of Music Convocation, Ardrey Memorial Auditorium, 11:00 a.m., Free Admission.
  • Thursday, Sep. 22, the Horizons Concert Series presents “Composition for Forests: Installation/Recital,” Shawn Skabelund, artist and Janice ChenJu Chiang, piano, Ashurst Hall, 7:30 p.m., $ Admission.
  • Saturday, Sep. 24, the Horizons Concert Series  presents “Composition for Forests: Installation/Recital,” Shawn Skabelund, artist and Janice ChenJu Chiang, piano, Ashurst Hall, 7:30 p.m., $ Admission.
  • Sunday, Sep. 25, NAU Orchestra Concert, Ardrey Memorial Auditorium, 3:00 p.m., $ Admission.
  • Monday, Sep. 26, the Horizons Concert Series  presents “Composition for Forests: Installation/Recital,” Shawn Skabelund, artist and Janice ChenJu Chiang, piano, Ashurst Hall, 7:30 p.m., $ Admission.
  • Wednesday, Sep. 28, the Horizons Concert Series  presents “Composition for Forests: Installation/Recital,” Shawn Skabelund, artist and Janice ChenJu Chiang, piano, Ashurst Hall, 7:30 p.m., $ Admission.
October 2016
  • Sunday, Oct. 2, the NAU School of Music Faculty Artist Series presents Frank Scott, piano, Ashurst Hall, 4:00 p.m., Free Admission.
  • Sunday, Oct. 9, the Horizons Concert Series  presents “From Russia with Love,” Chamber Orchestra Kremlin, Misha Rachlevsky, music director, Ardrey Memorial Auditorium, 7:30 p.m., $ Admission.
  • Wednesday, Oct. 12, NAU Wind Symphony Concert, Ardrey Memorial Auditorium, 7:30 p.m., $ Admission.
  • Thursday, Oct. 13, NAU Jazz Ensembles Concert, Ardrey Memorial Auditorium, 7:30 p.m., $ Admission. 
  • Saturday, Oct. 15, the NAU School of Music Faculty Artist Series presents a Faculty Chamber Concert, Ardrey Memorial Auditorium, 7:30 p.m., Free Admission.
  • Saturday, Oct. 22, NAU Vocal Jazz Concert, Ardrey Memorial Auditorium, 7:30 p.m., Free Admission.
  • Sunday, Oct. 23, NAU Fall Festival of Choirs, Ardrey Memorial Auditorium, 3:00 p.m., $ Admission.
  • Sunday, Oct. 23, the NAU School of Music Guest Artist Series presents Benjamin Pierce, tuba, Ashurst Hall, 7:30 p.m., Free Admission.
  • Thursday, Oct. 27, the Horizons Concert Series  presents “Sonic Border,” Guillermo Galindo, performance/film/lecture, Ashurst Hall, 7:00 p.m., Free Admission.
  • Saturday, Oct. 28-29, International Conducting Workshop with Henry Fogel and Mark Gibson, https://nau.edu/cal/music/orchestra/international-conducting-workshop/ Contact NAU Orchestra Office for more information at 928-523-3493
  • Saturday, Oct. 29, NAU Piano in the Pines, various locations, learn more at nau.edu/music/PianointhePines/.
  • Monday, Oct. 31, the Horizons Concert Series  presents “Faust I,” Jeffrey Swann, piano, Ashurst Hall, 7:20 p.m., $ Admission.
November 2016
  • Thursday, Nov. 3, NAU Lyric Theater presents “For the Love of Three Operas,” Ardrey Memorial Auditorium, 7:30 p.m., $ Admission.
  • Friday, Nov. 4, NAU Lyric Theater presents “For the Love of Three Operas,” Ardrey Memorial Auditorium, 7:30 p.m., $ Admission.
  • Saturday, Nov. 5, NAU Lyric Theater presents “For the Love of Three Operas,” Ardrey Memorial Auditorium, 2:30 p.m., $ Admission.
  • Saturday, Nov. 5, the NAU School of Music Student Artist Series presents Alexandra Fardelos and Ashley Anthony, Ashurst Hall, Free Admission.
  • Sunday, Nov. 6, the NAU School of Music Faculty Artist Series presents Kokopelli and Elden Brass in Concert, Ashurst Hall, 3:00 p.m., Free Admission.
  • Wednesday, Nov. 9, the NAU School of Music Student Artist Series presents a graduate recital by Jerome Theibaut, piano, Ardrey Memorial Auditorium, 7:30 p.m., Free Admission.
  • Thursday, Nov. 10, the NAU School of Music Student Artist Series presents a Bassoon Studio Recital, Ashurst Hall, 7:30 p.m., Free Admission.
  • Saturday, Nov. 12, the NAU School of Music Faculty Artist Series presents Brass Faculty Recital, Ashurst Hall, 3:00 p.m., Free Admission.
  • Sunday, Nov. 13, the NAU School of Music Student Artist Series presents a Trumpet Studio Recital, Ashurst Hall, 1:00 p.m., Free Admission.
  • Sunday, Nov. 13, NAU Low Brass Day, Ashurst Hall, 4:00 p.m., contact Music@nau.edu for details.
  • Tuesday, Nov. 15, NAU Jazz Ensembles Concert, Ardrey Memorial Auditorium, 7:30 p.m., $ Admission.
  • Wednesday, Nov. 16, NAU Symphonic Band Concert, Ardrey Memorial Auditorium, 7:30 p.m., $ Admission.
  • Friday, Nov. 18, NAU Percussion Ensemble Concert, Ardrey Memorial Auditorium, 7:30 p.m., $ Admission.
  • Saturday, Nov. 19, the NAU School of Music Student Artist Series presents a Viola Studio Recital, Ashurst Hall, 12:00 p.m., Free Admission.
  • Saturday, Nov. 19, the NAU School of Music Student Artist Series presents a Trombone Studio Recital, Ashurst Hall, 3:00 p.m., Free Admission.
  • Sunday, Nov. 20, NAU Orchestra Concert, Ardrey Memorial Auditorium, 3:00 p.m., $ Admission.
  • Monday, Nov. 21, NAU Wind Symphony Concert, Ardrey Memorial Auditorium, 7:30 p.m., $ Admission.
December 2016
  • Saturday, Dec. 3, the NAU School of Music Student Artist Series presents a Wind Chamber Recital, Ashurst Hall, 10:00 a.m., Free Admission.
  • Sunday, Dec. 4, the NAU School of Music Student Artist Series presents an Oboe Studio Recital, Ashurst Hall, 1:00 p.m., Free Admission.
January 2017
  • Information Coming Soon
February 2017
  • Sunday, Feb. 26, the NAU School of Music Faculty Artist Series presents a Faculty Chamber Recital, Ashurst Hall, 3:00 p.m., Free Admission.
March 2017
  • Thursday, Mar. 2, the NAU School of Music Faculty Artist Series presents Stephen Dunn, Trumpet, Ashurst Hall, 7:30 p.m., Free Admission
  • Sunday, Mar. 26, the NAU School of Music Student Artist Series presents a Trombone Studio Recital, Ashurst Hall, 3:00 p.m., Free Admission.
April 2017
  • Sunday, Apr. 9, the NAU School of Music Student Artist Series presents a graduate recital by Lyndsay Davies, piano, Ardrey Memorial Auditorium, 3:00 p.m., Free Admission.
  • Wednesday, Apr. 12, the NAU School of Music Student Artist Series presents a Bassoon Studio Recital, Ashurst Hall, 7:30 p.m., Free Admission.
May 2017
  • Information Coming Soon

Links to Community Music Organizations

In addition to the many great performances at the university, you might want to attend community music events and listen to our faculty, students, and alumni in action. Here are several groups whose performances you won’t want to miss: