2014-2015 School of Music Events

School of Music Short Display

Click each link to expand or collapse listings for that month.

September 2014
  • Thursday, Sept. 18, the School of Music Faculty Artist Series presents Alexander Lapins, tuba and euphonium, Ashurst Hall, 7:30 p.m., Free.
  • Sunday, Sept. 21, the School of Music Faculty Artist Series presents Rebecca Scarnati, oboe, and Nancy Sullivan, french horn, Ashurst Hall, 3:00 p.m., Free.
  • Monday, Sept. 22, the Horizons Concert Series presents Boston Brass, Ashurst Hall, 7:30 p.m., $ Admission.
  • Monday, Sept. 29, the School of Music Faculty Artist Series presents Stephen Dunn, trumpet, Ardrey Memorial Auditorium, 7:30 p.m., Free.
October 2014
  • Sunday, Oct. 5, NAU Symphony Orchestra Concert, Ardrey Memorial Auditorium, 3:00 p.m., $ Admission.
  • Tuesday, Oct. 7, NAU Jazz Combo Concert, Ardrey Memorial Auditorium, 7:30 p.m., Free.
  • Thursday, Oct. 9, the School of Music Faculty Artist Series presents Jacquelyn Schwandt, viola, Ashurst Hall, 7:30 p.m., Free.
  • Friday, Oct. 10, the School of Music Faculty Artist Series presents a Faculty Chamber Music Concert, Ardrey Memorial Auditorium, 7:30 p.m., Free.
  • Saturday, Oct. 11, NAU Vocal Jazz Night, Ardrey Memorial Auditorium, 7:30 p.m., Free.
  • Date changed to Monday, Nov. 10, the School of Music Faculty Artist Series presents Elden Brass and Kokopelli in Concert, Ashurst Hall, 7:30 p.m., Free.
  • Monday, Oct. 13, NAU Wind Symphony Concert, Ardrey Memorial Auditorium, 7:30 p.m., $ Admission.
  • Tuesday, Oct. 14, NAU Jazz Ensembles Concert, Ardrey Memorial Auditorium, 7:30 p.m., Free.
  • Friday, Oct. 17, the  School of Music presents a Cello Studio Recital, Ashurst Hall, 7:30 p.m., Free.
  • Saturday, Oct. 18, the School of Music Guest Artist Series presents Rhonda Taylor, saxophone, Ashurst Hall, 8:30 p.m., Free.
  • Sunday, Oct. 19, NAU Fall Festival of Choirs, Ardrey Memorial Auditorium, 3:00 p.m., $ Admission.
  • Cancelled Sunday, Oct. 26, NAU School of Music Guest Artist Series presents Duo Montagnard, Ashurst Hall, 7:30 p.m., Free.
  • Monday, Oct. 27, the Horizons Concert Series presents Jeffrey Swann, piano, Ashurst Hall, 7:30 p.m., $ Admission.
  • Tuesday, Oct. 28, the School of Music Guest Artist Series presents Brian Wilson, euphonium, Ashurst Hall, 7:30 p.m., Free.
  • Wednesday, Oct. 29, the School of Music Student Artist Series presents A Student Soloists Recital, Ashurst Hall, 7:30 p.m., Free.
  • Thursday, Oct. 30, the School of Music Guest Artist Series presents Kevin Stees, tuba, Ashurst Hall, 7:30 p.m., Free.
  • Friday, Oct. 31, the School of Music Student Artist Series presents a Student Chamber Music Ensembles Recital, Ashurst Hall, 7:30 p.m., Free.
November 2014
  • Saturday, Nov. 1, NAU Orchestra Festival, Ardrey Memorial Auditorium, call 928-523-3493 for details.
  • Saturday, Nov.1, the School of Music Faculty Artist Series presents Alexander Lapins, tuba and euphonium, Ashurst Hall, 7:30 p.m., Free.
  • Sunday, Nov. 2, the School of Music Student Artist Series presents a Graduate Lecture Recital by Troy Meeker, The Church of the Red Rocks, Sedona, 3:00 p.m., Free.
  • Monday, Nov. 3, the Horizons Concert Series presents Jeremy Huw Williams, baritone, and Paula Fan, piano, Ashurst Hall, 7:30 p.m., $ Admission.
  • Wednesday, Nov. 5, the School of Music Faculty Arist Series presents Emily Hoppe McKay, flute, Ashurst Hall, 7:30 p.m., Free.
  • Saturday, Nov. 8, the School of Music Student Recital Series presents a graduate recital by Morgan Mason, flute, Ashurst Hall, 1:30 p.m., Free.
  • Saturday, Nov. 8, the School of Music Student Recital Series presents Sarah Lawlor, viola, Ashurst Hall, 7:30 p.m., Free.
  • Sunday, Nov. 9, the School of Music presents a Piano Ensemble Concert, Ardrey Memorial Auditorium, 7:30 p.m., Free.
  • NEW DATE Monday, Nov. 10, the School of Music Faculty Artist Series presents Elden Brass and Kokopelli in Concert, Ashurst Hall, 7:30 p.m., Free.
  • Tuesday, Nov. 11, the School of Music presents a Bassoon Studio Recital, Ashurst Hall, 7:30 p.m., Free.
  • Tuesday, Nov. 11, NAU Opera presents Three One-Act Operas in one performance, Ardrey Memorial Auditorium, 7:00 p.m. pre-performance lecture, 7:30 p.m. performance, $ Admission.
  • Thursday, Nov. 13, NAU School of Music Honors Recital, Ardrey Memorial Auditorium, 11:10 a.m., Free.
  • Friday, Nov. 14, the School of Music presents a Percussion Ensemble Concert, Ardrey Memorial Auditorium, 7:30 p.m., Free.
  • Saturday, Nov. 15, the School of Music presents a Viola Studio Recital, Ashurst Hall, 5:00 p.m., Free.
  • Sunday, Nov. 16, the School of Music presents a Trombone Studio Recital, Ashurst Hall, 1:00 p.m., Free.
  • Sunday, Nov. 16, the School of Music Student Artist Series presents Laura McGill and Kelly Freeman, Ashurst Hall, 3:30 p.m., Free.
  • Monday, Nov. 17,the  Horizons Concert Series presents Echoing Air, Ashurst Hall, 7:30 p.m., $ Admission.
  • Tuesday, Nov. 18, NAU Jazz Ensembles Fall Concert, Ardrey Memorial Auditorium, 7:30 p.m., Free.
  • Wednesday, Nov. 19, NAU Symphonic Band Concert, Ardrey Memorial Auditorium, 7:30 p.m., $ Admission.
  • Thursday, Nov. 20, the  School of Music Student Artist Series presents Thomas Gomez and Daniel Dunn, Ardrey Memorial Auditorium, 7:30 p.m., Free.
  • Friday, Nov. 21, the School of Music presents an Oboe Studio Recital, Ashurst Hall, 7:30 p.m., Free.
  • Saturday, Nov. 22, the School of Music Student Artist Series presents Duncan Spore, bass, Ashurst Hall, 12:00 p.m., Free.
  • Saturday, Nov. 22, the School of Music Student Artist Series presents Cheng Xui Wong, piano, Ashurst Hall, 3:00 p.m., Free.
  • Sunday, Nov. 23, the School of Music Faculty Artist Series presents Cris Inguanti, clarinet, Ashurst Hall, 4:30 p.m., Free.
  • Sunday, Nov. 23, the School of Music presents a Piano and Organ Studio Recital, Ardrey Memorial Auditorium, 7:30 p.m., Free.
  • Sunday, Nov. 23, the School of Music presents a Student Wind Chamber Concert, Ashurst Hall, 7:30 p.m., Free.
  • Monday, Nov. 24, NAU Wind Symphony Concert, Ardrey Memorial Auditorium, 7:30 p.m., $ Admission.
  • Monday, Nov. 24, the School of Music presents a Violin Studio Recital, Ashurst Hall, 7:30 p.m., Free.
December 2014
  • Monday, Dec. 1, the School of Music presents a String Chamber Recital, Ashurst Hall, 7:30 p.m., Free.
  • Thursday, Dec. 4, 40th Annual Holiday Dinner, DuBois Center, Performances begin at 7:00 p.m., $ Admission, Call 928-523-2642 for more information.
  • Friday, Dec. 5, the School of Music presents a Saxophone Studio Recital, Ashurst Hall, 5:30 p.m., Free
  • Friday, Dec. 5, 40th Annual Holiday Dinner, DuBois Center, Performances begin at 7:00 p.m., $ Admission, Call 928-523-2642 for more information.
  • Saturday, Dec. 6, 40th Annual Holiday Dinner, DuBois Center, Performances begin at 7:00 p.m., $ Admission, Call 928-523-2642 for more information.
  • Sunday, Dec. 7, the School of Music Student Artist Series presents Aaron Burr, saxophone, and Caleb Westby, saxophone, Ashurst Hall, 12:30 p.m., Free.
  • Sunday, Dec. 7, NAU Symphony Orchestra Concert, Ardrey Memorial Auditorium, 3:00 p.m., $ Admission.
  • Sunday, Dec. 7, 40th Annual Holiday Dinner, DuBois Center, Performances begin at 5:00 p.m., $ Admission, Call 928-523-2642 for more information.
January 2015
  • Sunday, Jan. 18, the School of Music Student Artist Series presents a Graduate Conducting Recital by Arash Ertefai, Ardrey Memorial Auditorium, 3:00 p.m., Free.
  • Saturday, Jan. 31, the School of Music Faculty Artist Series presents a recital by Janice Chenju Chiang, piano, Ashurst Hall, 3:00 p.m., Free
February 2015
  • Sunday, Feb. 1, the School of Music Student Artist Series presents a Graduate Conducting Recital by Yudai Ueda, Ardrey Memorial Auditorium, 7:00 p.m., Free.
  • Friday, Feb. 6, NAU Symphony and Chamber Orchestra Arizona Music Educators Association Concert, Mesa Marriott Convention Center, 5:30 pm., Free.
  • Sunday, Feb. 8, the School of Music Student Artist Series presents a Graduate Lecture Recital by Caleb Nihira, Ashurst Hall, 7:00 p.m., Free.
  • Friday-Saturday, Feb. 13-14, 2015 Jazz Madrigal Festival, multiple venues on NAU campus and downtown Flagstaff, call 928-523-2642 for details.
  • Saturday, Feb. 14, the School of Music Student Artist Series presents a recital by Stephanie Whitaker, mezzo-soprano, Ashurst Hall, 5:30 p.m., Free.
  • Saturday, Feb. 14, the School of Music Student Artist Series presents a junior recital by Veronica Riner, violin, Ashurst Hall, 8:00 p.m., Free.
  • Sunday, Feb. 15, the School of Music Student Artist Series presents a joint junior recital by Kayla Applegate, violin and Alissa Apter-Prodger, violin, Ashurst Hall, 3:30 p.m., Free.
  • Sunday, Feb. 15, the School of Music Student Artist Series presents a recital by Sarah Sherman, soprano, and Sedona Libero, mezzo-soprano, Ashurst Hall, 7:30 p.m., Free.
  • Saturday, Feb. 21, the School of Music Student Artist Series presents a recital by Shannon Cochran and Jordan Self-Price, soprano, Ashurst Hall, 7:30 p.m., Free.
  • Sunday, Feb. 22, NAU Symphony and Chamber Orchestra Concert, Ardrey Memorial Auditorium, 3:00 p.m., $ Admission.
  • Monday, Feb. 23, NAU Symphonic Band Concert, Ardrey Memorial Auditorium, 7:30 p.m., $ Admission.
  • Wednesday, Feb. 25, NAU Wind Symphony Concert, Ardrey Memorial Auditorium, 7:30 p.m., $ Admission
  • Thursday-Saturday, Feb. 26-28, 2015 Jazz Festival, call 928-523-3779 or email Jazz.Studies@nau.edu for details.
  • Saturday, Feb. 28, the School of Music Student Artist Series presents a recital by Caitlin Corbett, viola, Ashurst Hall, 12:30 p.m., Free.
  • Saturday, Feb. 28, the School of Music Student Artist Series presents a recital by Jaqueline Alcocer, voice, Ashurst Hall, 3:00 p.m., Free.
  • Saturday, Feb. 28, the School of Music Student Artist Series presents a recital by Lindsay Shearer, voice, and Robert Decoste, voice, Ashurst Hall, 5:30 p.m., Free.
March 2015
  • Sunday, Mar. 1, Winter Festival of Choirs, Ardrey Memorial Auditorium, 3:00 p.m., $ Admission.
  • Sunday, Mar. 1, the School of Music Faculty Artist Series presents an Elden Brass in Concert, Ashurst Hall, 3:00 p.m., Free.
  • Tuesday, Mar. 3, the School of Music Student Artist Series presents a recital by Aaliyah Bancod and Camille Hartley, Ashurst Hall, 7:30 p.m., Free.
  • Thursday, Mar. 5, the School of Music Guest Artist Series presents a recital by Samuel Wells, trumpet, Ashurst Hall, 4:30 p.m., Free.
  • Thursday, Mar. 5, the School of Music Guest Artist Series presents a recital by Beth Mitchell, tuba, Ashurst Hall, 7:30 p.m., Free.
  • Friday, Mar. 6, Spring Tuba Thing Concert, Ashurst Hall, 6:30 p.m., Free.
  • Saturday, Mar. 7, the School of Music Student Artist Series presents a recital by Luis Valencia, violin, and Calle Treppiedi, oboe, Ashurst Hall, 2:00 p.m., Free.
  • Saturday, Mar. 7, the School of Music Student Artist Series presents a recital by Amanda Bushman, saxophone, Ashurst Hall, 4:30 p.m., Free.
  • Saturday, Mar. 7, the School of Music presents a Cello Studio Recital, Ashurst Hall, 7:30 p.m., Free.
  • Sunday, Mar. 8, the School of Music Student Artist Series presents a recital by Bryan Fike, saxophone, Ashurst Hall, 6:00 p.m., Free.
  • Tuesday, Mar. 10, NAU Jazz Combos Concert, Ardrey Memorial Auditorium, 7:30 p.m., $ Admission.
  • Wednesday, Mar. 11, the NAU New Music Ensemble, Ardrey Memorial Auditorium, 7:30 p.m., Free.
  • Thursday. Mar. 12, the School of Music Faculty Artist Series presents a recital by Robert Allen Saunders, bass, with Jeffrey Peterson, piano, Ashurst Hall, 8:00 p.m., Free. 
  • Thursday. Mar. 12, the School of Music Student Artist Series presents a graduate lecture recital by Jordan Rakita, location TBD, 8:00 p.m., Free. 
  • Wednesday, Mar. 13, NAU Wind Symphony Concert, Ardrey Memorial Auditorium, 7:30 p.m., $ Admission
  • Friday, Mar. 27, the School of Music Student Artist Series presents a recital by Jennifer Wiser, mezzo-soprano, and Kevin Penner, tenor, Ashurst Hall, 7:30 p.m., Free.
  • Saturday, Mar. 28, the School of Music Student Artist Series presents a senior recital by Justine DeMarco, violin, Ashurst Hall, 3:00 p.m., Free.
  • Saturday. Mar. 28, the School of Music Student Artist Series presents a recital Amber Roehrig, bassoon, Ashurst Hall, 5:30 p.m., Free
  • Saturday. Mar. 28, the School of Music Student Artist Series presents a recital Alyssa Click and Haylee Abney, Ashurst Hall, 7:30 p.m., Free
  • Sunday, Mar. 29, the School of Music presents a Trombone Studio Recital, Ashurst Hall, 1:00 p.m., Free.
  • Sunday, Mar. 29, the School of Music Faculty Artist Series presents a concert by the Kokopelli Ensemble, Ashurst Hall, 7:30 p.m., Free.
  • Tuesday, Mar. 31, NAU New Music Ensemble Concert, Ashurst Hall, 7:30 p.m., Free.

April 2015
  • Friday-Sunday, Apr. 3, 4, and 5, NAU Opera Theater and Symphony Orchestra performs the Marriage of Figaro, Ardrey Memorial Auditorium, times TBA, $ Admission.
  • Friday-Saturday, Apr. 10-11, Southwest Regional Clarinet Festival, call 928-523-6728 for details.
  • Saturday, Apr. 11, the School of Music Student Artist Series presents a recital by Melissa Ingram, saxophone, Ashurst Hall, 4:30 p.m., Free.
  • Saturday, Apr. 11, the School of Music Student Artist Series presents a recital by Schae Chapman, soprano, and Peyton Thompson, soprano, Ashurst Hall, 7:30 p.m., Free.
  • Sunday, Apr. 12, the School of Music Student Artist Series presents a recital by Zach Uzueta, percussion, Ardrey Memorial Auditorium, 3:00 p.m., Free.
  • Tuesday, Apr. 14, the School of Music presents a Bassoon Studio Recital, Ashurst Hall, 7:30 p.m., Free.
  • Friday, Apr. 17, NAU School of Music presents Orff’s Carmina Burana, Ardrey Memorial Auditorium, 7:30 p.m., $ Admission.
  • Saturday, Apr. 18, the School of Music Student Artist Series presents a recital by Colette Roberts, soprano, Ashurst Hall, 3:00 p.m., Free.
  • Saturday, Apr. 18, the School of Music Student Artist Series presents a recital by Suzanne Lim, piano, Ardrey Memorial Auditorium, 4:30 p.m., Free.
  • Saturday, Apr. 18, the School of Music Student Artist Series presents a recital by Jessi Griffin, flute, Ashurst Hall, 7:30 p.m., Free.
  • Saturday, Apr. 19, the School of Music Student Artist Series presents a recital by Kasey Calebaugh, viola, Ashurst Hall, 12:30 p.m., Free.
  • Saturday, Apr. 19, the School of Music Student Artist Series presents a recital by Anna Klinefelter, piano and organ, Ardrey Memorial Auditorium, 1:00 p.m., Free.
  • Saturday, Apr. 19, the School of Music Faculty Artist Series presents a recital by David Vining, trombone, Ashurst Hall, 3:00 p.m., Free.
  • Sunday, Apr. 19, NAU Chamber Orchestra Concert, Nativity of the Blessed Virgin March Church, Flagstaff, 3:00 p.m., Free.
  • Monday, April 20, the School of Music Faculty Artist Series presents a Faculty New Music Concert, Ardrey Memorial Auditorium, 7:30 p.m., Free. 
  • Monday, Apr. 20, the School of Music Student Artist Series presents a graduate lecture recital by Mark Petty, location and time TBD, Free.
  • Tuesday, Apr. 21, the School of Music presents a Violin Studio Recital, Ashurst Hall, 7:30 p.m., Free.
  • Wednesday, Apr. 22, the School of Music Guest Artist Series presents Adam Unsworth, french horn, Ashurst Hall, 6:00 p.m., Free.
  • Friday, Apr. 24, NAU Percussion Ensemble Concert, Ardrey Memorial Auditorium, 7:30 p.m., Free.
  • Saturday, Apr. 25, the School of Music Student Artist Series presents a Student Wind Chamber Concert, Ashurst Hall, 10:00 a.m., Free.
  • Saturday, Apr. 25, the School of Music Student Artist Series presents a recital by Catherine Thornsley, soprano, Ashurst Hall, 12:00 p.m., Free.
  • Saturday, Apr. 25, the School of Music Student Artist Series presents a joint junior recital recital by Sarah DeBartolo, violin and Kassie Kost, violin, Ashurst Hall, 3:00 p.m., Free.
  • Saturday, Apr. 25, NAU Vocal Jazz Night, Ardrey Memorial Auditorium, 7:30 p.m., Free.
  • Saturday, Apr. 25, the School of Music Student Artist Series presents a recital by Jeff Greenfield, saxophone, Ashurst Hall, 8:30 p.m., Free.
  • Sunday, Apr. 26, the NAU School of Music presents an Oboe Studio Recital, Ashurst Hall, 12:30 p.m., Free.
  • Sunday, Apr. 26, Spring Festival of Choirs, Ardrey Memorial Auditorium, 3:00 p.m., $ Admission.
  • Sunday, Apr. 26, the School of Music Student Artist Series presents a junior recital by Stephanie Oh, violin, Ashurst Hall, 3:00 p.m., Free.
    Sunday, Apr. 26, the NAU School of Music Student Artist Series presents a String Chamber Recital, Ashurst Hall, 7:30 p.m., Free.
  • Tuesday, Apr. 28, NAU Jazz Ensembles Concert, Ardrey Memorial Auditorium, 7:30 p.m., $ Admission.
  • Tuesday, Apr. 28, the School of Music presents a Violin Studio Recital, Ashurst Hall, 7:30 p.m., Free.
  • Wednesday, Apr. 29, NAU Wind Symphony Concert, Ardrey Memorial Auditorium, 7:30 p.m., $ Admission.
May 2015
  • Friday, May 1, NAU Symphonic Band Concert, Ardrey Memorial Auditorium, 7:30 p.m., $ Admission.
  • Friday, May 1, the School of Music presents a Saxophone Studio Recital, Ashurst Hall, 5:30 p.m., Free.
  • Friday, May 1, NAU Shrine of the Ages Choir in Concert, Nativity of the Blessed Virgin March Church, Flagstaff, 7:30 p.m., Free.
  • Saturday, May 2, NAU presents a concert in commemoration of the 70th anniversary of the end of World War “Because We Remember Them: Music, Dance, Film, Lecture, Drama, and Personal Accounts of World War II and the Holocaust's Legacy in the Arts”, Ardrey Memorial Auditorium, 8:00 p.m., Free.
  • Sunday, May 3,  NAU Shrine of the Ages Choir in Concert, Church of the Red Rocks, Sedona, 2:00 p.m., Free.
  • Sunday, May 3, the  School of Music Student Artist Series presents a  recital by Andrew Manka, guitar, Ashurst Hall, 2:30 p.m., Free. 
  • Sunday, May 3, NAU Symphony and Chamber Orchestra Concert, Ardrey Memorial Auditorium, 3:00 p.m., $ Admission.

Links to Community Music Organizations

In addition to the many great performances at the university, you might want to attend community music events and listen to our faculty, students, and alumni in action. Here are two groups whose performances you won’t want to miss: