Faculty

Administrative

Director

Flikkema's Portrait

Paul Flikkema
Professor
School of Informatics, Computing, and Cyber Systems
E-mail: Paul.Flikkema@nau.edu
Phone: 928-523-6114
Interests: Networked communication and computation systems.


Associate Director of Research and Graduate Programs

Georgas's Portrait

John Georgas
Associate Professor
School of Informatics, Computing, and Cyber Systems
E-mail: John.Georgas@nau.edu
Phone: 928-523-9984
Interests: Software engineering and software architecture.


Associate Director of Undergraduate Programs

Palmer's Portrait

James Palmer
Associate Professor
School of Informatics, Computing, and Cyber Systems
E-mail: James.Palmer@nau.edu
Phone: 928-523-5376


Faculty

Afghah's Portrait

Fatemeh Afghah
Assistant Professor
School of Informatics, Computing, and Cyber Systems
E-mail: Fatemeh.Afghah@nau.edu
Phone: 928-523-5095
Interests: Wireless communications, game theory optimization, autonomous decision making, big data analytics.


Barber's Portrait

J. Jay Barber
Associate Professor
School of Informatics, Computing, and Cyber Systems
E-mail: Jarrett.Barber@nau.edu
Interests: Bayesian statistics, spatial statistics, applications to ecology and the environment.


Zhou's Portrait

Bruce Barnes
Assistant Professor of Practice, CQUPT 3+1 
School of Informatics, Computing, and Cyber Systems 
E-mail: Bruce.Barnes@nau.edu
Interests: Analog electronics, international education.


Cambou's Portrait

Bertrand Cambou
Professor of Practice, Cybersecurity
School of Informatics, Computing, and Cyber Systems
E-mail: Bertrand.Cambou@nau.edu
Phone: 928-523-0076
Interests: Cybersecurity, novel secure elements, Physically Unclonable Functions, True Random Number Generators, ReRAM.


Doerry's Portrait

Eck Doerry
Professor
School of Informatics, Computing, and Cyber Systems
E-mail: Eck.Doerry@nau.edu
Phone: 928-523-9377


Doughty's Portrait

Chris Doughty
Assistant Professor
School of Informatics, Computing, and Cyber Systems
E-mail: Chris.Doughty@nau.edu
Interests: Climate change, Biodiversity loss, Forest carbon cycling, Earth System Science, Ecosystem Ecology, Remote sensing.



Mohamed Elwakil

Mohamed Elwakil
Lecturer
School of Informatics, Computing, and Cyber Systems
Email: Mohamed.Elwakil@nau.edu
Interests: Deterministic replay and trace-based predictive analysis of message-passing concurrent programs.



Fofanov's Portrait

Viacheslav "Slava" Fofanov
Assistant Professor
School of Informatics, Computing, and Cyber Systems
Mathematics and Statistics
E-mail: Viacheslav.Fofanov@nau.edu
Phone: 928-523-7664
Interests: Bioinformatics.


Gerosa's Portrait

Marco Gerosa
Associate Professor
School of Informatics, Computing, and Cyber Systems
E-mail: Marco.Gerosa@nau.edu
Interests: Software Analytics, OSS Communities, Mining Software Repositories, Empirical Software Engineering, Software Evolution.


Goetz's Portrait

Scott Goetz
Professor
School of Informatics, Computing, and Cyber Systems
E-mail: Scott.Goetz@nau.edu
Interests: Ecosystem responses to environmental change, Arctic, United States, biodiversity, remote sensing, landscapes, mapping.


Groce's Portrait

Alex Groce
Associate Professor
School of Informatics, Computing, and Cyber Systems
E-mail: Alex.Groce@nau.edu
Interests: Software testing, software understanding, automated debugging.


Gowanlock

Michael Gowanlock
Assistant Professor
School of Informatics, Computing, and Cyber Systems
E-mail: Michael.Gowanlock@nau.edu
Phone: 928-523-0738
Interests: Astro-informatics, particularly the search for where life exists in the universe


Hepp's Portrait

Crystal Hepp
Assistant Professor
School of Informatics, Computing, and Cyber Systems
E-mail: Crystal.Hepp@nau.edu
Phone: 928-523-7406


Heynssens' Portrait

Julie Heynssens
Lecturer
School of Informatics, Computing, and Cyber Systems
E-mail: Julie.Heynssens@nau.edu
Phone: 928-523-8882


Jacobs' Portrait

Steven Jacobs
Lecturer
School of Informatics, Computing, and Cyber Systems
E-mail: Steven.Jacobs@nau.edu
Phone: 928-523-9989
Interests: Human computer interaction, human performance engineering, software engineering, first-year learners


Kelley's Portrait

Patrick Kelley
Part-time Instructor
School of Informatics, Computing, and Cyber Systems
E-mail: Patrick.Kelley@nau.edu
Interests: Computer Architecture, Languages and Compilers, and Cognitive Science


Leverington

Michael Leverington
Lecturer
School of Informatics, Computing, and Cyber Systems
E-mail: Michael.Leverington
Interests: Studying areas related to how people solve problems and then, how to be effective at teaching problem solving



Loulergue's Portrait

Frédéric Loulergue
Professor
School of Informatics, Computing, and Cyber Systems
E-mail: frederic.loulergue@nau.edu
Research Interests: Programming languages, parallel programming, formal methods, security.


Mihaljevic's Portrait

Joseph Mihaljevic
Assistant Professor
School of Informatics, Computing, and Cyber Systems
E-mail: joseph.mihaljevic@nau.edu
Research Interests: Ecological informatics, multi-pathogen communities, and the dynamics of infectious diseases


Mlsna's Portrait

Phil Mlsna
Associate Professor
School of Informatics, Computing, and Cyber Systems
E-mail: Phillip.Mlsna@nau.edu
Phone: 928-523-2112


Nghiem

Truong Nghiem
Assistant Professor
School of Informatics, Computing, and Cyber Systems
E-mail: Truong.Nghiem@nau.edu
Interests: Cyber-physical systems, including the integration of smart buildings and smart grid


Ogle's Portrait

Kiona Ogle
Associate Professor
School of Informatics, Computing, and Cyber Systems
E-mail: Kiona.Ogle@nau.edu
Phone: 928-523-6200
Interests: Ecological synthesis and analysis, Bayesian applications in ecology, plant and ecosystem ecology.


Otte's Portrait

Dieter Otte
Associate Professor
School of Informatics, Computing, and Cyber Systems
E-mail: dieter.otte@nau.edu
Phone: 928-523-0876


Razi's Portrait

Abolfazl Razi
Assistant Professor
School of Informatics, Computing, and Cyber Systems
E-mail: Abolfazl.Razi@nau.edu
Phone: 928-523-8078
Interests: Wireless networking, stochastic signal processing, bioinformatics, and computational framework design.


Richardson

Andrew Richardson
Professor
School of Informatics, Computing, and Cyber Systems
E-mail: Andrew.Richardson@nau.edu
Interests: Terrestrial ecosystems, forest ecology and the carbon cycle; biosphere-atmosphere interactions; biological impacts of climate change; feedbacks between vegetation and the climate system; plant phenology; data-model fusion and inverse modeling


Ruddell's Portrait

Benjamin Ruddell
Associate Professor
School of Informatics, Computing, and Cyber Systems
E-mail: Benjamin.Ruddell@nau.edu
Interests: Hydrology, Ecology, Sustainability, Complex Systems, Data-Driven University Education.


Sankey's Portrait

Temuulen "Teki" Sankey
Assistant Professor
School of Informatics, Computing, and Cyber Systems
Earth Sciences and Environmental Sustainability
E-mail: Temuulen.Sankey@nau.edu
Phone: 928-523-7098
Interests: Remote sensing.


Scott's Portrait

David Scott
Associate Professor
School of Informatics, Computing, and Cyber Systems
E-mail: David.Scott@nau.edu
Phone: 928-523-3162
Interests: Speech and image processing, English for engineering, electric circuits, design projects.


Vanderberg's Portrait

Maggie Vanderberg
Lecturer
School of Informatics, Computing, and Cyber Systems
E-mail: Maggie.Vanderberg@nau.edu
Phone: 928-523-3698


Vigil-Hayes

Morgan Vigil-Hayes
Assistant Professor
School of Informatics, Computing, and Cyber Systems
E-mail: Morgan.Vigil-Hayes@nau.edu
Interests: Computer networks and data mining for understanding how people and networks interact

  

DelbertWillie

Delbert Willie
Assistant Professor
School of Informatics, Computing, and Cyber Systems
E-mail: Delbert.Willie@nau.edu
Phone: 928-523-7374
Interests: Quantitative precipitation estimation.



Winfree's Portrait

Kyle Winfree
Assistant Professor
School of Informatics, Computing, and Cyber Systems
E-mail: Kyle.Winfree@nau.edu
Phone: 928-523-7165
Interests: Wearable Informatics.


Jie Yang

Jie Yang
Assistant Professor of Practice
School of Informatics, Computing, and Cyber Systems
E-mail: Jie.Yang@nau.edu
Phone: 928-523-0897


Yaramasu's Portrait

Venkata Yaramasu
Assistant Professor
School of Informatics, Computing, and Cyber Systems
E-mail: Venkata.Yaramasu@nau.edu
Phone: 928-523-6092
Interests: Wind and Photovoltaic Energy, High Power Converters, Variable-Speed Drives, Fast Charging of Electric Vehicles, Power Quality, Smartgrid, Model Predictive Control.


Xi Zhou

Xi Zhou
Assistant Professor of Practice
School of Informatics, Computing, and Cyber Systems
E-mail: Xi.Zhou@nau.edu
Phone: 928-523-0902
Interests: Digital Logic, Electronic circuits, VLSI design, Semiconductor device fabrication and simulation, micro-/nano- diamond thin film synthesis.


Affiliated Faculty


Caporaso's Portrait

Greg Caporaso
Assistant Professor
Biology
E-mail: Greg.Caporaso@nau.edu
Interests: Bioinformatics, bioinformatics education, and the human microbiome.

 


Trilling's Portrait

David Trilling
Associate Professor
Physics and Astronomy
E-mail: David.Trilling@nau.edu
Interests: Evolution of our Solar System, observational planetary astronomy, studies of other planetary systems, data mining.