Faculty and Staff

Our faculty is available for you to ask questions and provide guidance during your college career.

Kathleen Ferraro 

Department Chair, Professor of Sociology
Internship Coordinator
E-mail:  Kathleen.Ferraro@nau.edu 
Phone:  928-523-9412
Office location:  SBS 328
PhD  Arizona State University, 1981
MA  Arizona State University, 1977
BA  Case Western Reserve University, 1972
Expertise:  Gender, Violence, Social Problems, Social Change, Poverty and Homelessness, Feminist Theory 
CURRICULUM VITAE 

Kooros Mahmoudi  

Graduate Program Director, Professor
E-mail:  Kooros.Mahmoudi@nau.edu 
Phone:  928-523-6554
Office location:  SBS 334
PhD  Utah State University, 1973
MA  Utah State University
BS  Utah State University
Expertise:  Demography, Urban, Social Organization, Sociological Theory, Population

Natalie Cawood 

Social Work Program Director and Associate Chair
Assistant Professor of Social Work
E-mail:  Natalie.Cawood@nau.edu
Phone:  928-523-6538
Office location:  SBS 332
PhD  Portland State University, 2007
MSW  Arizona State University, 1996
BA  Wheaton College, 1994
Expertise:  Evidence-based Practice, Interpersonal Violence in the School Context, Child Welfare, Family Centered Practice, Co-parenting After Divorce, Medical and School Social Work 
CURRICULUM VITAE

Mary Damskey

Social Work Field Coordinator, Associate Professor of Social Work
E-mail:  Mary.Damskey@nau.edu
Phone:  928-523-6563
Office location:  SBS 344
MSW  Michigan State University, 1979
BS  Michigan State University
ACSW
NASW
Expertise:  Social Work in Health Care Settings, Group Work, Death Education/Bereavement 

Sociology faculty

Mark Beeman

Professor
E-mail:  Mark.Beeman@nau.edu
Phone:  928-523-9206
Office location:  SBS Castro Bldg 65, Room 338
PhD  University of Illinois, 1985
MA  Central Michigan University
BS  Central Michigan University
Expertise:  Race and Ethnic Relations, International Development, Social Change 

James Bowie 

Senior Lecturer
E-mail:  James.Bowie@nau.edu 
Phone:  928-523-1752
Office location:  SBS Castro Bldg 65 Room 341 C
MA, PhD University of Arizona, 2005   
BA University of Texas at Austin
Expertise:  Culture, Organizations, Research Methods
Curriculum Vitae 

Doug Degher 

Professor
E-mail:  Douglas.Degher@nau.edu 
Phone:  928-523-6552
Office location:  SBS 342
PhD  Washington State University, 1974 
MA  Southern Oregon College
BA  San Jose State College
Expertise:  Criminology, Deviance, Social Theory, Sociology of Sports 

Katherine Everhart

Instructor
E-mail: Katherine.Everhart@nau.edu
Phone: 928-523-2979
Office Location: SBS Castro, 326
PhD, Vanderbilt University, 2014
Expertise: Sociology of Culture, Social Movements, Political Sociology, New Media 

Tina Eyraud

Lecturer
E-mail: Tina.Eyraud@nau.edu
Phone: 928-523-2283
Office location: SBS 357
PhD, in progress
MA, Northern Arizona University
BS, Northern Arizona University
Expertise: Globalization, Statistics, Race & Ethnic Relations, Stratification

Rich Fernandez  

Professor
E-mail:  Richard.Fernandez@nau.edu 
Phone:  928-523-5977
Office location:  SBS 336
PhD  Washington State University, 1976
MA  California State University - Fullerton
BA  California State University - Fullerton
Expertise:  Communities, Organizations, Research Methods, Statistics, Sociological Theory

Kathleen Ferraro  

Department Chair, Professor of Sociology
Internship Coordinator
E-mail:  Kathleen.Ferraro@nau.edu 
Phone:  928-523-9412
Office location:  SBS 328
PhD  Arizona State University, 1981
MA  Arizona State University, 1977
BA  Case Western Reserve University, 1972
Expertise:  Gender, Violence, Social Problems, Social Change, Poverty and Homelessness, Feminist Theory 

Karla Hackstaff  

Professor
E-mail:  Karla.Hackstaff@nau.edu 
Phone:  928-523-2920
Office location:  SBS Castro, Room 339
PhD  University of California - Berkeley, 1994
MA  University of California - Berkeley 
BA  University of Colorado
Expertise:  Sociology of the Family, Gender, Social Psychology, Qualitative Research Methods 

Michelle Harris  

Professor
E-mail:  Michelle.Harris@nau.edu  
Phone:  928-523-5352
Office location:  SBS 308
PhD  University of Michigan, 1998
BA/MA  University of South Florida, 1985
Expertise:  Social Psychology, Gender and Health, Sociology of Deviance

Warren Lucas  

Professor
E-mail:  Warren.Lucas@nau.edu  
Phone:  928-523-6543
Office location:  SBS 327
PhD  Utah State University, 1972
MA  Illinois State University
BA  Illinois State University
Expertise:  Criminology, Research Methods, Program Evaluation 

Yvonne Luna  

Associate Professor of Sociology
E-mail:  Yvonne.Luna@nau.edu  
Phone:  928-523-6135
Office location:  SBS 305
PhD  Arizona State University, 2005
MA  Arizona State University
BA  Arizona State University  
Expertise:  Race, Class, and Gender; Stratification and Inequality; Poverty and Welfare 

Kooros Mahmoudi  

Graduate Program Director, Professor
E-mail:  Kooros.Mahmoudi@nau.edu  
Phone:  928-523-6554
Office location:  SBS 334
PhD  Utah State University, 1973
MA  Utah State University
BS  Utah State University
Expertise:  Demography, Urban, Social Organization, Sociological Theory, Population

Mohamed Mohamed

Assistant Professor
E-mail: Mohamed.Mohamed@nau.edu
Phone: 928-523-1697
Office location: SBS Castro, 218
PhD Emory University
Expertise: Globalization, Sociology of Religion, Politics, Social Movements, Sociology of the Internet, Contemporary Social Theory

Jim Reed  

Senior Lecturer
E-mail:  James.Reed@nau.edu  
Phone:  928-523-1238
Office location:  SBS 302
PhD, Ball State University, 1980
MA, Ball State University
BA, Baylor University
Expertise:  Deviance, Macrosociology, Quantitative Methods, Social Problems 

Janine Schipper  

Professor
E-mail:  Janine.Schipper@nau.edu 
Phone:  928-523-7482
Office location:  SBS 323
PhD  Boston College 
MA  Boston College 
BA  Brandeis University
Expertise:  Environmental Sociology, Cultural Sociology, Consciousness and Social Change
CURRICULUM VITAE 

Dick Skeen  

Professor (On Sabbatical Fall 2014)
E-mail:  RE.Skeen@nau.edu  
Phone:  928-523-9510
Office location:  SBS 326
PhD  University of Colorado, 1980
MA  University of Colorado
BA  University of Colorado
Expertise:  Social Psychology, Sexuality, Film, Qualitative Methodology 
Over Shadowed

Michelle Tellez

Lecturer (Sociology & Ethnic Studies)
E-mail: Michelle.Tellez@nau.edu
Phone: 928-523-1144
Office location: SBS West 4
PhD Claremont Graduate University
Expertise: Ethnic/Chicana Studies, Women's studies, Borderland Studies, Social Movements and Activism

Angela A.A. Willeto  

Associate Professor
E-mail:  Angela.Willeto@nau.edu  
Phone:  928-523-7278
Office location:  SBS 343
PhD  University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, 1996 
MA  University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
BS  Brigham Young University 
Expertise:  Sociology of Family, Stratification, American Indians, Life Course, Quantitative Research Methods 

Social Work Faculty

Sara Aleman

Professor
E-mail:  Sara.Aleman@nau.edu
Phone:  928-523-3886
Office location:  SBS West 220
PhD  Brandeis University 1993
MSW  Arizona State University
BS  Corpus Christi State University
Expertise:  Gerontology, Social Welfare Policy, Ethnic Studies, Latino Elders

Natalie Cawood 

Social Work Program Director and Associate Chair
Assistant Professor of Social Work
E-mail:  Natalie.Cawood@nau.edu
Phone:  928-523-6538
Office location:  SBS 332
PhD  Portland State University, 2007
MSW  Arizona State University, 1996 
BA  Wheaton College, 1994 
Expertise:  Evidence-based Practice, Interpersonal Violence in the School Context, Child Welfare, Family Centered Practice, Co-parenting After Divorce, Medical and School Social Work 
CURRICULUM VITAE 

Jamie Clem

Lecturer
E-Mail: Jamie.Clem@nau.edu
Phone: 928-523-2979
Office Location: SBS 358
PhD Candidate, Florida State University
Expertise: Substance Abuse, Community Based Intervention, Experiential Learning, Social Artistry

Mary Damskey

Social Work Field Coordinator, Associate Professor of Social Work
E-mail:  Mary.Damskey@nau.edu
Phone:  928-523-6563
Office location:  SBS 344
MSW  Michigan State University, 1979
BS  Michigan State University
ACSW
NASW
Expertise:  Social Work in Health Care Settings, Group Work, Death Education/Bereavement 

Anne Medill

Associate Professor
E-mail:  Anne.Medill@nau.edu  
Phone:  928-523-0122
Office location:  SBS 340
PhD  University of Maryland - Baltimore, 1997 
MSW  Arizona State University
BSW  Arizona State University
Expertise:  Micro and Macro Practice, Cross-Cultural Work with Adolescents and Children, Social Policy and Legislation 

Melissa Rhodes  

Lecturer
E-mail: Melissa.Rhodes@nau.edu 
Phone: 928-523-8078
Office location: SBS 341D
MSW Arizona State University, 1997
BA Grinnell College, 1990
Expertise: clinical social work with children, adolescents and families, cultural competence in social work, children and families of divorce, culturally-relevant transition for Hopi and Navajo youth.

Part-Time Instructors

Rebecca Butcher  

E-mail: Rebecca.Butcher@nau.edu 
Phone: 928-523-0642

Damien Contessa

E-mail: Damien.Contessa@nau.edu

Diane Desmond

E-mail: Diane.Desmond@nau.edu

Risa Garelick  

E-mail:  Risa.Garelick@nau.edu  
MA Northern Arizona University, Applied Sociology
Expertise:  Race and Ethnic Relations, Marriage and the Family, Women and the Criminal Justice System, Human Sexuality, Sociology of Fear

Tiffany Hardman

E-mail: Tiffany.Hardman@nau.edu

Jilian Harris

E-mail: Jilian.Harris@nau.edu

Gary Lemons

E-mail: Gary.Lemons@nau.edu

David McKell (Emeritus)

Office location: SBS 302
Phone: 928-523-5049

Shaleen Seward

E-mail: Shaleen.Seward@nau.edu
Office location: SBS 339
MA Northern Arizona University, Applied Sociology
BS Northern Arizona University, Psychology
Expertise: Domestic Violence, Gender Studies

Dorothy Staskey  

E-mail:  Dorothy.Staskey@nau.edu  
PHD Northern Arizona University
MA Northern Arizona University
BA Northern Arizona University
Expertise: Sociology, Gerontology, Policy, Planning

Michael Van Ness

E-mail: Michael.Van-Ness@nau.edu 

Stephanie Winters

E-mail: Stephanie.Winters@nau.edu
Office Location: SBS 113

Adjunct Faculty

Kevin Vryan

E-mail: Kevin.Vryan@nau.edu

Child Welfare Training Project (Social Work)

Julie Fritzler, MSW, LCSW

Program Coordinator
E-mail: Julie.Fritzler@nau.edu
Phone: 928-523-9970
Office Location: 27A - 117
BA Warner Pacific University
MSW  University of Southern Illinois Carbondale
Practice/Teaching Interests: Foster care and adoption, Administration and fiscal management of state contracts, Clinical supervisions, In-home therapeutic services, Introduction to Social Work

Tiffany Ryan, PhD, MSW

Coordinator
E-mail: Tiffany.Ryan@nau.edu
Phone: 928-523-2029
Office Location: 27A - 106
BSW  Arizona State University
MSW  Arizona State University
PhD  University of Texas, Austin
Research/Teaching Interests: Child & family welfare and services, Social program planning and analysis, Policy analysis, Community organizing, Research methods

Staff

Debbie Bell 

Administrative Associate
E-mail:  Debbie.Bell@nau.edu  
Phone:  928-523-6569
Office location:  SBS 329
Budget Management, Course Scheduling, Personnel Processes, Event Planning 

Sarah Young

Administrative Assistant
E-mail: Sarah.Young@nau.edu
Phone: 928-523-6562
Office location: SBS 330
Graduate Program Assistant, Social Work Admissions, Marketing, Website Maintenance

Rebecca Goldader, Chitundu Simpanya & Lauren Valenzuela

Office Assistants/Student Workers
E-mail: ssw@nau.edu
Phone: 928-523-2979
Office Location: SBS 330
Student Information, Faculty Support, Form Processing, Front Desk Operations

Emeritus Faculty

Arnold Brown, PhD

John Bruhn, PhD

Becky Garrison, PhD 

Charlotte Goodluck, PhD

Gerald Hughes, PhD

Michael Kanan, PhD

Florence Karlstrom, PhD

David McKell MSW 

Edward Rybnicek, PhD

Phyllis Schiller, DSW