Clubs, Advocates, and Other Opportunities

Enhance your college experience outside of the classroom with these clubs and organizations.

African Student Association

Adviser: Eric Otenyo
Phone: 928-523-6868
Mail: Box 5717, Flagstaff, AZ 86011
Email: Eric.Otenyo@nau.edu 

Description: Promotes African culture within the university, community, and association. Supports and assists African students at the university, and works with other campus organizations.

American Indian Science and Engineering Society (AISES)

Advisers: Alexis Baca-Spry
Phone: 928-523-2300
Mail: Box 15600, Flagstaff, AZ 86011
Email: Alexis.Baca-Spry@nau.edu
Facebook page 

Description: AISES is a national organization that nurtures building of community by bridging science and technology with traditional Native Values, through educational programs. The club strives to provide opportunities for American Indians and Alaska Natives in science, engineering, and technology arenas.

Black Student Union (BSU)

Adviser: Kevin Chase
Phone: 928-523-9466
Email: Kevin.Chase@nau.edu or nau.bsu@gmail.com 

Description: The purpose of BSU is to encourage students to feel welcomed on campus. BSU especially wants minorities to feel accepted and proud of their ethnic background. BSU offers opportunities to help out in the Flagstaff community as well as the university campus, and remains very active on campus in addressing discriminatory actions.

Chinese Students and Scholarship Association

Adviser: Xia Jiang
Email: xia.jiang@nau.edu 

Time/place: First Saturday of each month/Field House, University Union.

Description: A club that builds Chinese cultural awareness at Northern Arizona University and serves the Chinese community.

Gamma Alpha Omega (GOA)

Adviser: Valeria Chase
Phone: 928-523-6973
Email: Valeria.Chase@nau.edu 

Adviser: Tim Pettry
Phone: 928-523-6540
Email: Tim.Pettry@nau.edu 

Description: GAO is a Latina-founded community service sorority established in 2002. We are here to serve the community and promote the quest for higher education.

HAPA

Adviser: Amy Websdale
Email: Amy.Websdale@nau.edu 

Description: The purpose of HAPA is to promote the understanding of the culture and provide a sense of community for students from the Pacific Rim, including but not limited to:

  • Hawaii
  • Alaska
  • Asia
  • Western Europe
  • Indonesia
  • Guam
  • Palau
  • the Phillippines
  • the Marshall Islands
  • Samoa
  • Fiji
  • Polynesia
  • Western Canada

Hispanic Honor Society

Adviser: Juliana Suby
Phone: 928-523-8977
Mail: Box 6035, Flagstaff, AZ 86011
Email: Juliana.Suby@nau.edu 

Description: The purpose of HHS is to function as an honorary service society. We embody the ideals of character, culture, leadership, scholarship and service while promoting the Hispanic culture at Northern Arizona University and in the Flagstaff community.

International Club (I-Club)

Adviser: Megan Kohr
Phone: 928-523-9489
Mail: Box 5598, Flagstaff, AZ 86011
Email: Megan.Kohr@nau.edu 

Description: The International Club promotes cross-cultural interaction with people from different countries, cultures, and backgrounds. I-Club takes an active part in organizing activities that build cultural/international awareness on campus and in Flagstaff.

Kappa Delta Chi

Adviser: Dulce Rosario Soto
Phone: 928-523-1529
Mail: Box 5677, Flagstaff, AZ 86011
Email: Dulce.Soto@nau.edu 

Description: Kappa Delta Chi is a sorority open to all women interested in sisterhood, service, and fun! We were founded at Northern Arizona University in 1995 by nine women who wanted to instill the values of unity, honesty, integrity and leadership in women on campus.

L.E.A.D.S. Center

Multicultural Student Center

Phone: 928-523-5656
Fax: 928-523-9466
Mail: Box 5677, Flagstaff, AZ 86011
Web: nau.edu/msc 

Student Support Services

Phone: 928-523-6980
Fax: 928-523-9466
Mail: Box 6035, Flagstaff, AZ 86011
Web: nau.edu/sss 

M.E.Ch.A. (Movimiento Estudiantil Chican@ de Aztlán)

Adviser: T. Mark Montoya
Phone: 928-523-5502
Mail: Box 15320, Flagstaff, AZ 86011
Email: T.Montoya@nau.edu 

Adviser: Dulce Rosario Soto
Phone: 928-523-1529
Email: Dulce.Soto@nau.edu 

Description: MEChA is an organization that brings awareness to Chican@ issues at Northern Arizona University, in Flagstaff, in Arizona, and in the nation. The organization is open to all students.

National Society of Minorities in Hospitality

Adviser: Kathleen Krahn
Phone: 928-523-8346
Email: Kathleen.Krahn@nau.edu 

Description: NSMH is a student run organization with chapters at 60 schools nationwide and a membership of over 1300 students.

Native American Business Organization (NABO)

Adviser: Sharon Doctor
Phone: 928-523-6960
Mail: Box 5653, Flagstaff, AZ 86011
Email: Sharon.Doctor@nau.edu 

Description: NABO assists and encourages students to:

  • complete their degree while maintaining their identity
  • promote awareness of Native American culture through events
  • perform community service to local and tribal communities

Native American Cultural Center

Phone: 9288-523-6229
Email: Kathleen.Frank@nau.edu 

Omega Delta Phi

Adviser: T. Mark Montoya
Phone: 928-523-5502
Email: T.Montoya@nau.edu 

Description: "One culture, any race." This motto describes Omega Delta Phi's philosophy of Inclusion. Omega Delta Phi's two priorities are to graduate the members of the fraternity and to reach out to the local community.

Repeal Coalition

Email: repealcoalition@gmail.com