Ethnic Studies Program Faculty

Ethnic Studies Faculty & Steering Committee 

Silhouette Dr. Bañales

Samuel Bañales, PhD: Instructor, Ethnic Studies*
Specialities: Youth Activism & Social Movements; Chican@/Latin@ Art, Film, &History; Decolonizing Philosophies, Concepts, & Methods; Theorizing Age, Race, Class, Gender, & Sexuality
Samuel.Banales@nau.edu; 523-6707

 /uploadedImages/Academic/SBS/Ethnic_Studies/217238_204276759593137_117922631561884_659608_1171428_n.jpg Dr. Beeman 

Mark Beeman, PhD: Director, Ethnic Studies & Professor, Sociology*
Specialties: Race & Ethnic Relations; Race & Ethnic Social Theory; Macrosociology; Sociology of Development
Mark.Beeman@nau.edu; 523-9206

 /uploadedImages/Academic/SBS/Ethnic_Studies/Unknown.jpg Dr. Guthrie 

Ricardo Guthrie, PhD: Assistant Professor, Ethnic Studies*
Specialties: African American & Diaspora Studies; the Black Press; Race, Media & Communication
Ricardo.Guthrie@nau.edu; 523-5946 

Links to Prof. Guthrie’s artwork and research activities:

 /uploadedImages/Academic/SBS/Ethnic_Studies/Screen shot 2012-02-16 at 7.37.53 PM.jpg Dr. Montoya 

T. Mark Montoya, PhD:  Lecturer, Ethnic Studies*
Specialties: Race Politics, U.S.-Mexico Borderlands, Chican@/Latin@ Studies, Cultural Politics, Citizenship
T.Montoya@nau.edu; 523-5502

 /uploadedImages/Academic/SBS/Ethnic_Studies/215971_203998946287585_117922631561884_657021_5325635_n(1).jpg Ms. Purdy 

Daisy Purdy, MEd: Instructor, Ethnic Studies & Sociology*
Specialties: Contemporary Indigenous Identity; Race & Ethnicity
Daisy.Purdy@nau.edu; 523-3931

Mary Roaf, PhD: Instructor, Ethnic Studies & Anthropology*
Specialties: Education; Race & Ethnicity; African American Studies
Mary.Roaf@nau.edu; 523-0653

Sara Alemán, PhD: Professor, Sociology & Social Work
Specialties: Ethnic Aging; Aging Policies; Ethnic Studies; Social Work with Ethnic Communities
Sara.Aleman@nau.edu; 523-3886

Jeff Berglund, PhD: Professor, English
Specialties: American Indian Literature; Multi-Ethnic Literatures of the United States & Cultural Studies
Jeff.Berglund@nau.edu; 523-9237

David Camacho, PhD: Special Assistant to the President & Associate Vice President for Inclusion & Equity
Specialties: United States Race Politics; Latina/o Politics; Higher Education Administration & Policy; Organizational Development; Environmental Politics & Policy
David.Camacho@nau.edu; 523-8743

Angelina E. Castagno, PhD: Associate Professor, Education
Specialties: Race and Ethnicity in Schools; Critical Race Theory; Critical Whiteness Studies; American Indian Education
Angelina.Catagno@nau.edu; 523-0363

Geeta Chowdhry, PhD: Professor and Chair, Politics and International Affairs
Specialties: Intersectionality-Gender, Race & Class; International Relations; Globalization & Race; Postcolonial Theory; Development; Asian Politics
Geeta.Chowdhry@nau.edu; 523-9207

Chad Hamill, PhD: Assistant Professor, Music
Specialties: Ethnomusicalogy; Classical music of northern India; Native American music
Chad.Hamill@nau.edu; 523-3848

Deborah Harris, MEd: Associate Dean of Student Life
Deborah.Harris@nau.edu; 523-5181

Juanita Heredia, PhD: Associate Professor, Global Languages and Cultures
Specialties: Chicana/Latina Feminism; U.S. Latin@ & Latin American Literature & Popular Culture; Comparative Cultures of the Americas
Juanita.Heredia@nau.edu; 523-6721

Ryan Kashanipour, PhD: Assistant Professor, History and Latin American Studies
Specialities: Latin America
Ryan.Kashanipour@nau.edu; 523-6210
 

Christine Lemley, PhD: Associate Professor, Teaching and Learning
Specialties: Education 
Christine.Lemley@nau.edu; 523-5567
 

John Leung, PhD: Associate Professor, History
Specialties: Chinese Intellectual & Social History; Modern China; Asian American History
John.Leung@nau.edu; 523-6209

Robert Neustadt, PhD: Professor, Global Languages and Cultures
Specialities: Spanish Language Literature; U.S.-Mexico Borderlands; Latin American Studies
Robert.Neustadt@nau.edu; 523-6241

Gerald Wood, PhD: Associate Professor, Education
Specialties: Educational Leadership
Gerald.Wood@nau.edu; 523-6309 

*Indicates Ethnic Studies Teaching Faculty Position