How We Pick Our Topics

The people decide. Hot Topics are selected by committees that represent diverse constituencies and viewpoints. The Hot Topics discussed on NAU's campus are selected by the campus committee. The Hot Topics that take place off campus are selected by a community committee. 

Campus Committee
*Voted to select “hot topics” for the Spring of 2014.

*Zachary Gerber, Math major/Physics major, Philosophy minor
*Cynthia Haros, Philosophy in the Public Interest
*Javier Herrera, ART (Action Research Team) member
*Samantha Hudson, ART (Action Research Team) member
*Sara Larsen, No More Deaths
*Oregon McDiarmid, Student State Affairs Director, ASNAU
*Abdu Mohamed, ART (Action Research Team) member
*Emily O'Niel, No More Deaths
*Jeremiah Quintanilla, Philosophy in the Public Interest
*Matthew Salte, ART (Action Research Team) member
*Danielle Sloan, Philosophy in the Public Interest
*Christopher Varvey, ART (Action Research Team) member
*Anthony Wallace, Philosophy in the Public Interest
*Bianca Weiro, ART (Action Research Team) member
*Cynthia Yap, ASNAU
  • htc_inline_campus committee_240 x 175
  • htc_inline_campus committee_5_240 x 175
  • htc_inline_campus committee2_240 x 175
  • htc_inline_campus committee_4_240 x 175
  • htc_inline_campus committee_3_240 x 175

The Campus Committee is comprised of a diverse group of students who selected issues for the fall of 2012 that are most relevant to them. This group is currently being expanded to include an even wider range of students, faculty and staff who will choose topics for the spring of 2013.

Community Committee

*Voted to select “hot topics” for the Spring of 2013


Allan Affeldt, Owner-La Posada; Founder, Winslow Arts Trust; Former Mayor, City of Winslow; Museum of Northern Arizona Board Member, Arizona Town Hall Board Member, Arizona Citizens for the Arts Board Member
Diana Arendt, County Chairwoman, Coconino County Republican Committee
*Joseph Boles, NAU Professor Emeritus
Scott Deasy, Deacon of Epiphany Episcopal Church, semi-retired OB/GYN
Coral Evans, City Council
*Kathy Farretta, Education Program Manager, Museum of Northern Arizona
*Jean Friedland, Compassion Project, Northern Arizona University
Patty Garcia, Coconino Community College District Governing Board, Nuestras Raices, Raymond Educational Foundation Board
Ken Lamm, Flagstaff Community Foundation
Stephanie McKinney, Chair, Flagstaff 40
Marj McClanahan, Arizona Community Foundation, Flagstaff Community Foundation, Flagstaff Medical Center Certificate Holder, NAU Social and Behavioral Sciences Advisory Council, Museum of Northern Arizona Committee, Phi Beta Phi Financial Advisor, Arizona Society of CPAs
Jerry Nabours, Mayor of Flagstaff
*Wayne Ranney, Geologist, Author, Museum of Northern Arizona Board Member, Grand Canyon Historical Society, Flagstaff Festival of Science Board of Directors
John Stark, General Manager, KNAU
*Craig Van Slyke, Dean, Northern Arizona University Franke College of Business
*Michael Vincent, Dean, Northern Arizona University College of Arts and Letters
Harriet Young, First Vice Chair of the Arizona Democratic Party, Arizona Town Hall Member, Member of the Museum of Northern Arizona, Member of the Arboretum at Flagstaff, President of American Association of University Women Flagstaff Branch, NAU Department of Politics and International Affairs since 1992, Philosophy in the Public Interest Advisory Board


Rob Adams, Mayor of Sedona, Philosophy in the Public Interest Advisory Board
*Carol Gandolfo, President, Verde Valley Republican Women
Jane Hausner, Executive Director, Verde Valley Sancturary
Tom O’Halleran, Arizona Republican Senator 2007-2009; President, Keep Sedona Beautiful; Chair, Verde River Basin Parntership; Citizens Advisory Board, PBS
Alicia Magal, Rabbi of the Jewish Community of Sedona and the Verde Valley
*John Neville, President, Sustainable Arizona, Lead, SEDI Sustainability in Education & Green Business Network
Judy Reddington, Northern Arizona University College of Arts and Letters Advisory Council; Museum of Northern Arizona Board Member, Philosophy in the Public Interest Advisory Board, Sedona Community Plan, Sedona International Film Festival Board Member
*Robin Weeks, Director,Osher Lifelong Learning Institute
Steve Williamson, President, Democrats of the Red Rocks
  • htc_inline_community committee_240 x 175 px
  • htc_inline_community committee2_240 x 175 px
  • htc_inline_community committee3_240 x 175 px
  • htc_inline_community committee4_240 x 175 px
  • htc_inline_community committee5_240 x 175 px

This Community Committee is comprised of a diverse group of community leaders who represent various constituencies in Northern Arizona. Committee members seek input from their various constituencies about the most pressing community concerns. Committee members also promote the Hot Topics Café to their constituencies toward the end of getting a diverse group of people to engage in civil conversations. The Community and Campus Committees represent and reaffirm that Hot Topics Café is a nonpartisan program that encourages broad-based civic education and participation.


Facebook Twitter