Publish, Check-In, and Save
There are three options for saving a page. Publishing a page which saves your content, checks your page in for others to make changes to, and sends it to the live site. Check-In a page which saves your content and checks it in for others to make changes, but does not send it to the live site. Finally Save, which saves all of your edits, but does not check it in and does not send it to the live site.
Publishing a page
Publishing a page saves your content, checks-in your page for others to make changes to it, and sends it to the live site. Your edits sync to the public site at 15 minutes past the next hour.
- Once you have finished adding or editing content on a page, click the Publish icon in the gray toolbar.
- Your page will now be available for viewing in the Alias and will be seen on the site.
- To see a preview, click on the "Alias" tab, and then click on the file path. This will display edits you just made.
Return to Top
Changes to your website will go "live"to the public every hour, at :15 after the hour
You may find that when you make changes to your site within the CMS and go to view the live site, your changes don't appear. This is because at the :15 of every hour (12:15 p.m., etc.) every nau.edu site syncs with the CMS work site, updating any changes that have been made and making them live.
However, you can still view changes made to a page immediately by viewing the page alias within the CMS work environment. Simply click on the page within the CMS you want to view, select the "Alias" tab and click on the provided link.
You can also view changes by typing "cmswork." at the beginning of the URL (for example, "cmswork.nau.edu" instead of "nau.edu").
Return to Top
Checking in a page
Checking in a page saves your content and checks it in for others to make changes, but does not send it to the live site.
- Once you have finished adding or editing content on a page, click the Check-in Icon in the gray toolbar.
- Your changes will be saved and you will return to the CMS home screen. The page will not be viewable on the site, and it will not have an Alias to preview, but your content will be saved and available to publish at a later time.
Saving a page
Saving a page saves all of your edits, but does not check it in and does not send it to the live site.
- Once you have finished adding or editing content on a page, click the Save Icon in the gray toolbar.
- We advise saving a page only when you’re working for a while in a page to ensure you do not use your edits. If you save a page, and close the window you will lock the page and no one else will be able to edit it.
- If you are saving a new page, your work will be saved, and you will remain on the Editing Page. The page will be viewable within the CMS, but not on the site. It will not have an Alias to preview, but your content will be saved and available to publish at a later time. If you are saving an existing page, your changes will be kept but will not be viewable on the site until you click "Publish".
The page status let's you know what state your page is in.
TIP! If your changes are not showing on the public University site OR you do not appear to have permissions to edit a page, check your status to make sure it is "A". Pages not listed as "A" status, generally need to be published.
- A = Available. You want all your Smart Forms (e.g. your webpages) in an "A" status because this indicates the information has been saved, is visible on the public server, and can be edited by anyone who has permissions to this folder.
- I = Check In. This status indicates that changes to the Smart Form have been saved, and have been checked in so anyone else with permissions to the page can make edits. When the page is completed, it can be published.
- O = Open. Someone has saved this Smart Form and it is locked to them. To not lose any changes, the person who saved the page should go back in and publish it. If the person who saved the page is no longer available, you can contact EDEN-Help@nau.edu (3-9CMS) and we can publish the page for you, however all changes will be lost.