Meet our faculty

Applequist


Karen Applequist, Ph.D.
Professor
Office: 165
Phone: 928 523-9276
Email:  Karen.Applequist@nau.edu

More on Dr. Applequist

Dr. Applequist specializes in:

  • early intervention
  • early childhood special education

Her methodologies include:

  • survey
  • case study
  • narrative

Armfield


Shadow Armfield, Ed.D.
Assistant Professor
Office: 202-C
Phone: 928 523-7651
Email:  Shadow.Armfield@nau.edu

Blocher


J. Michael Blocher, Ph.D.
Professor
Office: 209-I
Phone: 928 523-1897
Email:  Michael.Blocher@nau.edu

More on Dr. Blocher

Dr. Blocher specializes in:

  • technology integration
  • instructional design and curriculum development

Methodologies include:

  • survey
  • action research

Bloom


Jeff Bloom, Ed.D.
Professor
Office: 143
Phone: 928-523-0665
Email: Jeff.Bloom@nau.edu
Website:  www.jeffbloom.net

Cockrum


Ward Cockrum, Ph. D.
Professor
Office: 202-G
Phone: 928-523-7142
Email: Ward.Cockrum@nau.edu 

More on Dr. Cockrum

Dr. Cockrum specializes in reading instruction, and his methodologies include:

  • experimental and quasi-experimental
  • correlational
  • causal-comparative

Thomas Fetsco

More on Dr. Fetsco

Dr. Fetsco specializes in:

  • cognitive learning theory
  • information-processing and assessment
  • program evaluation

His methodologies include:

  • experimental and quasi-experimental
  • causal comparative
  • correlational

Foley


Jean Ann Foley
Associate Professor
Office: 202-D
Phone: 928-523-6998
Email: Jeanann.Foley@nau.edu

Francis
Norbert Francis
Professor
Office: 167
Phone: 928 523-8915
Email: Norbert.Francis@nau.edu
Dr. Francis specializes in bilingual and multicultural education and linguistics.

Gilbert


Dr. Willard Gilbert, Ed.D
Professor
Office: 207-G
Phone: 928 523-7107
Email: Willard.Gilbert@nau.edu

More on Dr. Gilbert

Dr. Gilbert specializes in:

  • Indian education
  • curriculum development
  • teacher workshops in English as a Second Language and bilingual education
  • Native science curriculum

His methodologies include:

  • experimental and quasi-experimental
  • correlational
  • survey
  • case study
  • ethnographic
  • action research
  • historical

Paula Greene

Information coming soon.
Contact Dr. Greene

Herold02
Mariella Herold, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Office: 147
Phone:
Email: Mariella.Herold@nau.edu

Horn
Patty Horn Ed.D
Professor (Elementary Education)
Office: Phoenix
Phone: 602-499-8941
Email: Patty.Horn@nau.edu 

Johnson
Gae R. Johnson, PhD
Professor
Office: 209-D
Phone: 928-523-9217
Email: Gae.Johnson@nau.edu 

More on Dr. Johnson

Dr. Johnson specializes in:

  • mathematical problem solving
  • mathematics anxiety
  • mathematics standards

Methodologies include:

  • correlational
  • casual-comparative
  • survey

Jennifer Kurth

Information coming soon.
Contact Dr. Kurth

TBD


Dr. Christine Lemley
Assistant Professor
Office: 202-J
Phone: 928-523-5567
Email: Christine.Lemley@nau.edu

Markel02


Sherry Markel, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Office: 209-H
Phone: 928-523-6166
Email: Sherry.Markel@nau.edu

Ed Special


Susan Marks, Ph.D.
Professor
Office: 202-F
Phone: 928 523-8570
Email:  Susan.Marks@nau.edu

More on Dr. Marks

Dr. Marks specializes in:

  • applied behavior analysis and support plans for students with challenging behaviors
  • autism
  • teacher professional development
  • program evaluation

McAllister


Gretchen McAllister, Ph.D.
Coordinator Curriculum and Instruction Doctoral program
Office: 202-E
Phone: 928-523-5029
Email: Gretchen.McAllister@nau.edu

More on Dr. McAllister

Dr. McAllister specializes in:

  • interdisciplinary curriculum development
  • multicultural, cross-cultural, and culturally-responsive teaching
  • teacher education

Methodologies include:

  • experimental and quasi-experimental
  • correlational
  • survey
  • case study
  • narrative

Medina


Catherine Medina, Ph.D.
Professor
Office: 141
Phone: 928 523-2143
Email:  Catherine.Medina@nau.edu

More on Dr. Medina

Dr. Medina specializes in:

  • special education
  • emotionally disturbed
  • behavior disordered

Methodologies include:

  • survey
  • case study
  • ethnographic
  • narrative

Peterson


Patricia Peterson
Professor
Office: 206-G
Phone: 928 523-4005
Email:  Patricia.Peterson@nau.edu

More on Dr. Peterson

Dr. Peterson specializes in:

  • international special education
  • culturally, linguistically, diverse, exceptional education
  • teacher preparation programs

Her methodologies include:

  • experimental and quasi-experimental
  • correlational
  • survey

Powell


Pamela Powell, Ed.D.
Associate Professor
Office: 118
Phone: 928-523-5644
Email: Pamela.Powell@nau.edu

More on Dr.Powell

Dr. Powell specializes in:

  • elementary education
  • early childhood education
  • grade retention

Her methodologies include:

  • narrative inquiry

Prater


Greg Prater, Ph.D.
Professor
Office: 207-D
Phone: 928 523-8979
Email:  Greg.Prater@nau.edu

More on Dr. Prater

Dr. Prater specializes in:

  • international special education
  • behavior change plans
  • methods for teaching students with high incidence disabilities

Methodologies include:

  • historical

Prior


Jennifer Prior, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Office: 207-L
Phone: 928-523-5064
Email: Jennifer.Prior@nau.edu

Reyhner
Jon Reyhner
Professor
Office: 207-E
Phone: 928 523-0580
Email: Jon.Reyhner@nau.edu

Dr. Reyhner specializes in Indian education and reading, using historical methodologies.

Frances Riemer

More on Dr. Reimer

Dr. Riemer specializes in:

  • program evaluation
  • school improvement
  • community
  • family
  • indigenous populations
  • ethnographic research
  • childhood studies
  • adult literacy
  • equity and access issues
  • cultural difference and schooling

Methodologies include:

  • case study
  • ethnographic
  • action research

Roberts


Michael Roberts, Ed.D.
Associate Professor
Phone: 928 523-9408
Email:  Michael.Roberts@nau.edu

 

Sealander


Karen Sealander
Professor
Office: 148
Phone: 928 523-0353
Email:  Karen.Sealander@nau.edu

More on Dr. Sealander

Dr. Sealander specializes in:

  • informal and formal assessments of students who are having difficulty in the school setting, both general education and special education
  • intervention in academic and behavioral areas, including FBA and strategies instruction
  • test-taking and study skills

Her methodologies include:

  • Single subject

TBD


Sandra Stone
Office: 209-F
Phone: 928-523-4280
Email: Sandra.Stone@nau.edu

 

Dr. Stone specializes in:

  • multiage
  • emergent literacy
  • play
  • portfolio assessment
  • professional development schools

Methodologies include:

  • case study
  • ethnographic
  • action research
  • narrative

Sujo-Montes


Laura Sujo-Montes, Ph.D.

Office: 108
Phone: 928-523-0892
Email:  Laura.Sujo-Montes@nau.edu

 

Dr. Sujo de Montes specializes in:

  • educational technology
  • online learning
  • English as a Second Language and technology
  • professional development

Her methodologies include:

  • experimental and quasi-experimental
  • survey
  • case study
  • ethnographic
  • evaluation
  • action research

TBD


Dr. Vicki Ross
Associate Professor
Office: 207-J
Phone: 928-523-7194
Email: Vicki.Ross@nau.edu

 

Tu


Chih Tu, Ph.D.
Professor
Office: 209-C
Phone: 928 523-0671
Email:  Chih-Hsiung.Tu@nau.edu

Dr. Tu specializes in:

  • distance learning
  • socio-cultural learning
  • socio-cognitive learning
  • collaborative learning community
  • knowledge management

Methodologies include:

  • quasi-experimental
  • correlational
  • survey
  • ethnography
  • narrative

Veltri02


Barbara Veltri, Ed.D.
Associate Professor
Office: NAU North Valley Room 127
Phone: 602-776-4672
Email: Barbara.Veltri@nau.edu

 

Wegwert


Joseph C. Wegwert, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Department of Teaching and Learning, College of Education
Affiliate Faculty, Women's and Gender Studies, College of Social and Behavioral Sciences
Office: 209-M
Phone: 928-523-5854
Email: Joe.Wegwert@nau.edu

Gerald Wood

Dr. Wood specializes in:

  • critical geographies of/in education
  • school violence
  • disability studies
  • middle schools

Methodologies include:

  • qualitative research
  • critical ethnography
  • case study research
  • auto ethnographic work