Ecology, behavior and evolution research

If you are a student interested in participating in research, contact the relevant faculty member below. 

TITLE 

NAME 

CONTACT 

INTEREST AREAS - WEBSITE 

Associate Professor, Assistant Director

Gerald Allan

Gery.Allan@nau.edu 

928-523-8934

Bldg. 21 Room 258

Molecular Systematics and Ecology;
Phylogenetics

http://nau.edu/enggen 

Principal Lecturer

W. Sylvester Allred, Jr.

Syl.Allred@nau.edu 

Abert's Squirrel Ecology and 
Reproduction

Associate Professor

Tina J. Ayers

Tina.Ayers@nau.edu 

928-523-9482

Bldg. 21 Room 304

Plant Systematics; Biogeography;
Floristics

http://jan.ucc.nau.edu/~ayers/ 

Laboratory Manager

Emma P. Benenati

EmmaP.Benenati@nau.edu 

928-523-9399

Bldg. 21 Room 212

Aquatic Ecology; Stream Ecosystems

Assistant Research ProfessorRussell BenfordRussell.Benford@nau.edu

928-523-1355

Bldg. 21 Room 337
Behavioral ecology, Conservation biology, Wildlife management

Associate Research Professor

Neil Cobb

Neil.Cobb@nau.edu 

928-523-5528

Bldg. 22 Room 330

Arthropod Biodiversity; Plant-Herbivore
Interactions; Ecology of Pinyon-Juniper 
Woodlands; Climate and Land-use
Change

http://www.bugs.nau.edu/ 

Emeritus Regents' Professor

Lee Drickamer

Lee.Drickamer@nau.edu 

Animal Behavior

http://www.cefns.nau.edu/Academic/
Biology/Faculty/LeeDrickamer.shtml 

Professor

Catherine (Kitty) Gehring

Catherine.Gehring@nau.edu 

928-523-9158

Bldg. 21 Room 307

Plant and Fungal Ecology

http://nau.edu/gehring 

Assistant Research ProfessorKaren Haubensak Karen.Haubensak@nau.edu

Bldg. 21 Room 420

Community and ecosystem ecology, plant-soil feedback, soil food webs, restoration ecology, invasion ecology

Vice President for Research

Laura F. Huenneke

Laura.Huenneke@nau.edu 

928-523-2701

Plant Populations and Community
Ecology

Professor

Bruce Hungate

Bruce.Hungate@nau.edu 

928-523-0925

Bldg. 88 Room 214

Biogeochemistry; Global Change Biology;
Ecosystem Ecology; General Ecology

 

Professor

Nancy Johnson

Nancy.Johnson@nau.edu 

928-523-6473

Bldg. 19 Room 124

Mycorrhizal and Soil Ecology 

 

Professor

George Koch

George.Koch@nau.edu 

928-523-7150

Bldg. 21 Room 243

Plant Ecophysiology

Professor

Jane Marks

Jane.Marks@nau.edu 

928-523-0918

Bldg. 21 Room 401

 

Studies of how Abiotic and Biotic Factors
Structure Freshwater Food Webs;
Anthropogenic Disturbances of
Watershed Nutrient Loading; and
Alterations of Flow Regimes upon River
Foodwebs

http://oak.ucc.nau.edu/jcm22/ 

Professor

W. Linn Montgomery

Linn.Montgomery@nau.edu 

928-523-7505

Bldg. 21 Room 403

Biology of Fishes; Physiology and 
Ecology of Reproduction and Feeding
http://jan.ucc.nau.edu/~wlm/
 

Lecturer

Randall W. Scott

Randall.Scott@nau.edu 

928-523-2091

Bldg. 21 Room 310

Plant Systematics; Biogeography and
Floristics

http://oak.ucc.nau.edu/rscott/ 

Emeritus Professor

Philip Service

Philip.Service@nau.edu 

928-523-7216

Bldg. 21 Room 426

Life-history Genetics; Evolution;
Population Genetics and Statistics

Research Associate/Adjunct Professor

Joseph P. Shannon

Joseph.Shannon@nau.edu 

928-523-1740

Bldg. 21 Room 309

 

Aquatic Ecology, specifically Mechanisms 
Governing River Ecosystems and How to 
Monitor them

http://www4.nau.edu/biology/aquaticbiology/ 

Professor

Stephen M. Shuster

Stephen.Shuster@nau.edu 

928-523-9302

Bldg. 21 Room 302

 

Evolution of Animal Mating Systems;
Male and Female Mating Systems; Male
and Female Reproductive Strategies; and
Population Biology of Marine Organisms

http://www4.nau.edu/isopod/ 

Emeritus Professor

Constantine Slobodchikoff

Con.Slobodchikoff@nau.edu 

928-523-7231

Bldg. 21 Room 341

Behavior, Communication, and Social
Behavior in  Mammals
http://www.ConSlobodchikoff.com

http://jan.ucc.nau.edu/~cns3/ 

Associate Professor

Tad Theimer

Tad.Theiimer@nau.edu 

928-523-8374

Bldg. 21 Room 301

Vertebrate Biology; Mammalogy;
Wildlife Management; Ornithology

http://jan.ucc.nau.edu/~tct/ 

Associate Professor

Dave Wagner

Dave.Wagner@nau.edu 

928-523-0686

Ecology and Evolution of Infectious
Diseases

Regents’ Professor

Thomas G. Whitham

Thomas.Whitham@nau.edu 

928-523-7215

Bldg. 21 Room 408

Population and Community Ecology;
Ecological Genetics

http://nau.edu/mpcer 

http://nau.edu/poplar 

Assistant Professor

Jason A. Wilder

Jason.Wilder@nau.edu 

928-523-5286

Bldg. 88 Room 239

Human Evolution; Genetics and
Genomics