Cellular and molecular biology and microbiology research

If you are a student interested in participating in research, contact the relevant faculty member below. 

TITLE 

  

INTEREST AREAS - WEBSITE 

Associate Professor

Alison E. M. Adams

Alison.Adams@nau.edu 

928-523-0393

Bldg. 20 Room 104C

Genetics; Cell Biology; Cancer Biology

http://www.nativecancer.org/ 

Associate Professor

Stephen M. Beckstrom-Sternberg

Stephen.Beckstrom-Sternberg@nau.edu 

contact via email

Bioinformatics

Assistant Professor     Greg CaporasoGreg.Caporaso@nau.edu

928-523-5845
Microbial ecology and human health;
software development for microbial study
Assistant Research ProfessorJeff Foster Jeff.Foster@nau.edu

928-523-0694
Pathogen evolution and disease ecology
Assistant ProfessorLiza HoleskiLiza.Holeski@nau.edu

928-523-0701
Evolutionary genetics & ecology, plant-herbivore interactions, quantitative genetics, trait evolution in plant populations

Regents’ Professor & Cowden Chair

Paul Keim

Paul.Keim@nau.edu 

928-523-1078

 

Genomic Analysis, Molecular; Evolutionary and Population Genetics of Diverse Organisms Including Bacteria, Plants and Animals

 

Professor & Associate Chair

Fernando Monroy

Fernando.Monroy@nau.edu 

928-523-0042

Bldg. 88 Room 236

 

Immune Responses to Intracellular Pathogens; Immunity to Parasites; Infectious Diseases; Host-Pathogen Interactions

http://www2.nau.edu/~fpm/ 

Assistant ProfessorNathan NietoNathan.Nieto@nau.edu

928-523-8034
Infectious diseases, wildlife microbiology
Assistant Research ProfessorTalima PearsonTalima.Pearson@nau.edu

928-523-4290
Microbial evolution, population dynamics

Senior Lecturer

Peggy E. Pollak

Peggy.Pollak@nau.edu 

928-523-9492

Bldg. 21 Room 109

 

Effects of Altered Environments on Angiosperm Pollen Development; Pollen Tube Growth and Fertilization; Biology of the Giant Bacterium Epulopiscium Fishelsoni

Professor

Richard Posner

Richard.Posner@nau.edu 

928-523-4209

Bldg. 88 Room 237

Theoretical Biology and Biophysics; Cell biology and Biological Chemistry

Associate Professor

Egbert Schwartz

Egbert.Schwartz@nau.edu 

928-523-6168

Bldg. 21 Room 250

 

Microbial Ecology; Bioremediation; Ecosystem Ecology; Microbial Fuel Cells; Teaching; Environmental Microbiology; Introductory Biology; Cellular and Molecular Biology

Schwartz Laboratory of Microbial Ecology 

Professor

Catherine Ueckert

Catherine.Wilcoxson@nau.edu 

928-523-7026

Bldg. 21 Room 246

Biology Education; Curriculum and Instruction

http://jan.ucc.nau.edu/~caw/ 

Emeritus Regents' Professor

Karen P. VanWinkle-Swift

Karen.VanWinkle-Swift@nau.edu 

928-523-8618

 

Genetic and Ultrastructural Analysis of Development in Microbes

Associate Professor

David Wagner

Dave.Wagner@nau.edu 

928-523-0686

 

Ecology and Evolution of Infectious Diseases

Department Chair and Professor

Maribeth Watwood

Maribeth.Watwood@nau.edu 

928-523-9322

Bldg. 21 Room 229

 

Biodegradation of Organic Compounds; Soil Microbial Ecology; Bioremediation; Nutrient Cycling; Wetland Ecology; Nutrient Cycling; Wetland Ecology Degradation of Organic Compounds; Soil Microbial Ecology; Bioremediation; Nutrient Cycling; Wetland Ecology

http://jan.ucc.nau.edu/~mew46/ 

Assistant Professor

Jason A. Wilder

Jason.Wilder@nau.edu 

928-523-5286

Bldg. 88 Room 239

Human Evolution; Genetics and Genomics