Cellular and molecular biology and microbiology research

If you are a student interested in participating in research, contact the relevant faculty member below. 

TITLE 

NAME 

CONTACT 

INTEREST AREAS - WEBSITE 

Associate Professor

Alison E. M. Adams

Alison.Adams@nau.edu 

523-0393

Bldg. 20 Room 104C

Genetics; Cell Biology; Cancer Biology

http://www.nativecancer.org/ 

Associate Professor

Stephen M. Beckstrom-Sternberg

Stephen.Beckstrom-Sternberg@nau.edu 

523-8738

Bioinformatics

Regents’ Professor & Cowden Chair

Paul Keim

Paul.Keim@nau.edu 

523-1078

BBC 325

 

Genomic Analysis, Molecular; Evolutionary and Population Genetics of Diverse Organisms Including Bacteria, Plants and Animals

 

Professor & Associate Chair

Fernando Monroy

Fernando.Monroy@nau.edu 

523.0042

Bldg. 88 Room 236

 

Immune Responses to Intracellular Pathogens; Immunity to Parasites; Infectious Diseases; Host-Pathogen Interactions

http://www2.nau.edu/~fpm/ 

Senior Lecturer

Peggy E. Pollak

Peggy.Pollak@nau.edu 

523-9492

Bldg. 21 Room 109

 

Effects of Altered Environments on Angiosperm Pollen Development; Pollen Tube Growth and Fertilization; Biology of the Giant Bacterium Epulopiscium Fishelsoni

Professor

Richard Posner

Richard.Posner@nau.edu 

523-4209

Bldg. 99 Room 237

Theoretical Biology and Biophysics; Cell biology and Biological Chemistry

Associate Professor

Egbert Schwartz

Egbert.Schwartz@nau.edu 

523-6168

Bldg. 21 Room 250

 

Microbial Ecology; Bioremediation; Ecosystem Ecology; Microbial Fuel Cells; Teaching; Environmental Microbiology; Introductory Biology; Cellular and Molecular Biology

Schwartz Laboratory of Microbial Ecology 

Professor

Catherine Ueckert

Catherine.Wilcoxson@nau.edu 

523-7026

Bldg. 21 Room 246

Biology Education; Curriculum and Instruction

http://jan.ucc.nau.edu/~caw/ 

Emeritus Regents' Professor

Karen P. VanWinkle-Swift

Karen.VanWinkle-Swift@nau.edu 

523-8618

BBC 238

Genetic and Ultrastructural Analysis of Development in Microbes

Associate Professor

David Wagner

Dave.Wagner@nau.edu 

523.0686

Bldg. 88 Room 237

Ecology and Evolution of Infectious Diseases

Department Chair and Professor

Maribeth Watwood

Maribeth.Watwood@nau.edu 

523-9322

Bldg. 21 Room 229

 

Biodegradation of Organic Compounds; Soil Microbial Ecology; Bioremediation; Nutrient Cycling; Wetland Ecology; Nutrient Cycling; Wetland Ecology Degradation of Organic Compounds; Soil Microbial Ecology; Bioremediation; Nutrient Cycling; Wetland Ecology

http://jan.ucc.nau.edu/~mew46/ 

Assistant Professor

Jason A. Wilder

Jason.Wilder@nau.edu 

523-5286

Bldg. 88 Room 239

Human Evolution; Genetics and Genomics