Construction Management news and events

News and events

Thank You and Welcome to our Newest Generation Next Supporters!

We would like to welcome and thank our newest Generation Next Sponsors:
Gold Sponsorship: Holder Construction
Silver Sponsorship: McCarthy Building Companies, Barnard Construction, The Weitz Company, Henkels & McCoy, and Adolfson & Peterson.
McCarthy Barnard Construction Logo Weitz Logo Henkles & McCoy Logo  
Our program thrives on our industry support and we look forward to working with you in the years to come!

2014 Demolition Banquet

We would like to thank all the Industry Supporters who attended our 2014 Annual Graduation Banquet and Demolition Banquet! A special thank you goes our keynote speaker, Ron Wilson, and JE Dunn for winning the Supporter of the Year Award. We wish the spring 2014 class luck as they enter the ever growing construction industry!

NAU Steel Sculpture Completed

Last Spring, the NAU CM program completed the construction of the Steel Sculpture! This structural steel tree will be used as a teaching tool to help student visualize the various constructions of steel. We would like to thank Schuff Steel, CEMEX, and Warner's Nursery and Landscaping for donating time, materials, and support during the construction process!

CM program welcomes new faculty

Jeff Heiderscheidt Photo 195x195

Jeff Heiderscheidt joined the NAU faculty of Civil Engineering, Construction Management, and Environmental Engineering in 2014 after serving on the faculty of the US Air Force Academy. Prior to moving to Flagstaff, he spent nearly 23 years as a Civil Engineer for the US Air Force. His engineering career spans a wide variety of design and project management experiences at a variety of locations around the world. Jeff is a member of ASCE, AGU, SAME, and ASEE and enjoys hiking, camping, and downhill skiing when he’s not teaching.  Read more on our Faculty and Staff page.

Dwight D. Eisenhower Transportation Fellowship Program (DDETFP) Recipients

Congratulations to Sean Begay (Construction Management and Civil Engineering major) and Mary Begay (Mechanical Engineering major) for receiving the Eisenhower Fellowship. Both students will be completing their proposed research project for the 2014-2015 academic year under the supervision of Dr. Jun Ho. Both students have been received a $10,000 award and will be presenting their research at the 2015 Annual Meeting of the Transportation Research Board in Washington, D.C.

CM Scholarship Recipients

Congratulations to the Construction Management student scholarship recipients for the 2014-2015 school year!  For more information about upcoming scholarships, please visit our Scholarships page.

Ben C. Griggs & American Subcontractors Association Scholarship

Natalie Bouley

Chuck Orr Construction Management Scholarship

Callie Johns

Construction Management Departmental Scholarship

Elizabeth Garcia-Turjillo

Kitchell Native American Scholarship

Cody Slim
Jerson Hosteen

Scott W. McFarland Memorial Scholarship

Callie Johns

Retail Construction Association Scholarship

Shawn Falleur

Valley of the Sun Chapter CMFA

Aubrey Mollett

Kinney Construction Services Award

Shawn Falleur

The Beavers Heavy Construction Scholarship

Jerson Hosteen

Association of General Contractor (AGC) Scholarship

Emily Benjamin
Natalie Bouley
David Wilson
Sierra Holloway (CE)

American Quarter Horse Foundation Scholarship

Steven Blum

NAU CM program announces Dwight D. Eisenhower MIHE Transportation Fellowship Program

The Dwight D. Eisenhower Transportation Fellowship Program (DDETFP) provides funding for NAU American Native students and Hispanic students in the pursuit of a Degree (Bachelor, Master, or Doctorate) in transportation related fields at NAU.  Applications due April 1, 2013. Click here for details