What is the Commission on Ethnic Diversity?

The Commission on Ethnic Diversity (CED), originally named the Presidential Ambassadors for Cultural Diversity, was appointed by President Hughes in 1989.  Now known as the Commission on Ethnic Diversity, our university-wide committee draws in knowledge of members committed to a multicultural diverse educational environment.  We work to increase ethnic diversity among our student population, faculty, staff, and administration and to develop strategies to diversify the curriculum. Through unity and diversity our campus community can create a better learning and working environment where we all share and learn from one another.


Co-chairs (2016-2017 academic year)

Gerald Wood 
Associate Professor, College of Education
(928) 523-6309

Executive Board Members

  1. Sharon S. Doctor, Assistant Director, Native American Student Services
  2. Deborah Harris, Associate Dean, Office of Student Life
  3. Debra Edgerton, Associate Professor, School of Art
  4. Gerald Wood, Associate Professor, College of Education
  5. Emily Davalos, Doctoral Student
  6. Christine Lemley, Associate Professor, College of Education
  7. Debbie Shepard, Administrative Assistant, E-Learning
  8. T. Mark Montoya, Assistant Professor, Ethnic Studies
  9. Arturo Heriberto Magana, Graduate Assistant, Anthrpology
  10. Vacant 
  11. Vacant