Leadership Award

The CDAD Leadership Award honors faculty, staff, students, departments, organizations or community members who have made outstanding contributions to the disability community at NAU. Only faculty, staff, and students may make nominations. The awardees are announced and honored at the President's Annual Diversity Awards Dinner. If you know someone deserving of this award, please complete the nomination form. Winners will be notified in mid-March.

2016 Recipients


Past Leadership Award Winners


Matthew Wangeman, Instructor, Institute for Human Development
NAU Recreation Services
Akaylah Jaeke, Coordinator, Recreation Services


Caitlin Turner, Student, President of NAU 4 All
Lauren Copeland-Glenn, Coordinator, Office of Affirmative Action and Equal Opportunity
Institute for Human Development
Personalized Learning


Beth Pifer, Disability Resources
Robert Young, Student and President of NAU 4 All
Geographic Sciences and Community Planning Program


Dr. Susan Smiley, Adjunct Faculty, Anthropology
Kristen Garcia, Facilities Services
Carolyn Carr, Facilities Services
Facilities Services Department


Marketing Department
Jamie Axelrod, Director, Disability Services
Matthew Minister, e-Learning Center


Sarah True, Student, Biological Sciences
John Campbell, Director, ITS
Tex Byars and Ralph Padilla, Grounds Crew


Jennifer Tsonis, Student Services Coordinator, College of Engineering, Forestry and Natural Sciences
Dr. David Scott, Professor and Chair, College of Engineering, Forestry and Natural Sciences
Dr. Kristen Waring, Assistant Professor, College of Engineering, Forestry and Natural Sciences
The School of Forestry


Heath Hudson, Student, Hotel and Restaurant Management
Jane E. Mulrooney, Director, Disability Resources
Dr. Richard W. Carroll, Director, Institute for Human Development
Learning Assistance Centers of Northern Arizona University


Kamran Mousavi, Student, Parks and Recreation Management
Christopher Lanterman, Lecturer, College of Education
Dr. Susan Marks, Associate Professor, College of Education