Past Hot Topics Cafés

Past Hot Topics Cafés- Information Sheets and Discussion Summaries 

Tuesday, April 23, 2013
Gentrification in Flagstaff Handout
Tuesday, April 23, 2013
5:30 p.m., NAU Green Scene
Facilitator: Dr. Julie Piering, NAU Philosophy Department
Tuesday, April 16, 2013
Navajo Generating Plant Handout
6:00 p.m.,The Museum of Northern Arizona
Facilitator: Dr. Matthew Goodwin, NAU Philosophy Department
Wednesday, April 3, 2013
Education: a public or private good? Handout
6:00 p.m., The Museum of Northern Arizona
Facilitator: Dr. Lori Poloni-Staudinger, NAU, Politics & International Affairs Department
Tuesday, April 2, 2013
Education: a public or private good? Handout
5:30 p.m., The Osher Lifelong Learning Institute (OLLI) at Yavapai College in Sedona
Facilitator: Dr. Lori Poloni-Staudinger, NAU, Politics & International Affairs Department

Tuesday, March 12, 2013

Uranium Mining around the Grand Canyon Handout
6:00 p.m., The Museum of Northern Arizona
Facilitator: Dr. Matthew Goodwin, NAU Philosophy Department

Wednesday, March 6, 2013
Taxes: a cost/benefit analysis Handout
6:00 p.m., The Museum of Northern Arizona
Facilitator: Dr. John Devlin, NAU Fanke College of Business

Tuesday, March 5, 2013
Taxes: a cost/benefit analysis Handout
5:30 p.m., The Sedona Public Library
Facilitator: Dr. John Devlin, NAU Franke College of Business
Thursday, February 21, 2013
Science Literacy Handout
5:30 p.m., NAU Green Scene
Facilitator: Dr. Stephen Lenhart, NAU Philosophy Department
Tuesday, February 19, 2013
Colorado River Dams Handout
6:00 p.m.,  The Museum of Northern Arizona  
Facilitator: Dr. Matthew Goodwin, NAU Philosophy Department
Wednesday, February 6, 2013
Gun Control and Gun Rights: Second Amendment Issues Handout
5:30 p.m., The Birch Street Deli
Facilitator: Andrea Houchard, NAU Philosophy Department
Tuesday, February 5, 2013
Gun Control and Gun Rights: Second Amendment Issues Handout
5:30 p.m., The Sedona Public Library
Facilitator: Andrea Houchard, NAU Philosophy Department
Wednesday, January 30, 2013
HB 2563 and Religious Texts in Classrooms Handout
5:30 p.m., NAU Green Scene
Facilitator: Dr. Jeff Downard
Wednesday December 5, 2012

Is liberty threatened by equality Handout
Wednesday, December 5, 2012
5:30 p.m., The Museum of Northern Arizona 
Facilitator: Dr. Christopher Griffin, NAU Philosophy Department

Questions to consider, Further Reading and Sources 

Tuesday December 4, 2012

Is liberty threatened by equality Handout

Questions to consider, Further Reading and Sources
Tuesday, December 4, 2012
5:30 p.m., The Osher Lifelong Learning Institute
Facilitator: Dr. Christopher Griffin, NAU Philosophy Department

Thursday November 29, 2012

Health Care: Access and Coverage Handout

Flagstaff Community Discussion Summary

Thursday, November 29, 2012
5:30 p.m., The Museum of Northern Arizona 
Facilitator: James Joiner and Dr. Jason Matteson, NAU Philosophy Department

Tuesday November 7, 2012
Climate Change Handout 
Wednesday, November 7, 2012
5:30 p.m., The Museum of Northern Arizona
Facilitator: Dr. John Devlin, NAU’s Franke College of Business 
Tuesday November 6, 2012
Climate Change Handout
Tuesday, November 6, 2012
5:30 p.m., Sedona Public Library 
Facilitator: Dr. Matthew Goodwin, NAU Philosophy Department
Monday November 5, 2012

"Costs of Higher Education Handout"

NAU Community Discussion Summary
Monday, November 5, 2012
5:30 p.m., NAU Green Scene
Facilitator: Dr. Stephen Lenhart, NAU Philosophy Department

Thursday October 18, 2012
Taxation and the Federal Debt Handout
Thursday, October 18, 2012
5:30 p.m., Coconino Center for the Arts
Facilitator: Dr. John Devlin, NAU’s Franke College of Business
Tuesday October 16, 2012
Rhetoric and the Media Handout
Tuesday, October 16, 2012
5:30 p.m., NAU Green Scene
Facilitator: Dr. Julie Piering, NAU Philosophy Department
Wednesday October 3, 2012
Super PACs and Elections Handout
Flagstaff Community Discussion Summary

Wednesday, October 3, 2012
5:30 p.m.,  The Museum of Northern Arizona 
Facilitator: Dr. Matthew Goodwin , NAU Philosophy Department
Tuesday October 2, 2012
Super PACs and Elections Handout
Sedona Community Discussion Summary

Tuesday, October 2, 2012
5:30 p.m., The Osher Lifelong Learning Institute
Facilitator: Dr. Matthew Goodwin , NAU Philosophy Department
Monday September 10, 2012
"Socialists and Vulture Capitalists"
Monday, September 10, 2012
5:30 p.m., NAU Green Scene
Facilitator: Dr. Julie Piering

Wednesday September 5, 2012 

Media Impact on Thought
Wednesday, September 5
5:30 p.m., Museum of Northern Arizona
Facilitators: Dr. Julie Piering, NAU Philosophy Department

Tuesday September 4, 2012 

Media Impact on Thought
Tuesday, September 4
5:30 p.m., Sedona Public Library
Facilitators: Dr. Julie Piering, NAU Philosophy Department

Tuesday April 17, 2012 

Wind Energy
Tuesday, April 17
6:00 p.m., LA 137
Facilitators: Dr. Janine Schipper, Sociology and Dr. John Devlin, Philosophy

Wednesday April 11, 2012 

 Middle East Conflict

Wednesday, April 11, 7:00 p.m.
Facilitators: Dr. Carol Thompson, Politics and International Affairs and Reverend Kathleen Day, Campus Ministries

Tuesday March 20, 2012

Tucson Book Banning
7:00 p.m., Green Scene Café
Facilitators: Dr. Matthew Goodwin and Dr. Heidi Wayment

Wednesday February 15, 2012

Gay Rights
7:00 p.m., Green Scene Café
Facilitators: TBA
"Students Become Philosophers at Discussion for Gay Rights" by David Abbott

Wednesday January 25, 2012
Snowmaking at Snowbowl
7:00 p.m.
Green Scene Café
Facilitators: Jeff Downard

Tuesday, November 15, 2011
Reproductive Freedom in Northern Arizona
7:00 p.m.

Wednesday, October 26, 2011

"Occupy Wall Street"

 

Facebook