Academy Instructors

At the Community Music and Dance Academy, you’ll have the opportunity to work with numerous highly-skilled instructors.

Body mapping instructor

Read more
David Vining
Trombone/Euphonium
E-mail: david.vining@nau.edu
Phone: 928-523-3786

Private music lessons coordinators

Read more

Margaret Gunderson
Voice coordinator
E-mail: margaret.gunderson@nau.edu
Phone: 928-523-5541

Rita Borden
Piano coordinator
E-mail: rita.borden@nau.edu
Phone: 928-523-2289

Orchestra conductor

Read more

Dance instructors

Read more

Suzuki and fiddle

Read more

Karen Hallberg
Master teacher
Violin/Suzuki/music education
karin.hallberg@nau.edu
928-523-8065] 

Jacquelyn Joy Schwandt
Master teacher
Viola/violin/chamber music
Jacquelyn.schwandt@nau.edu
928-523-0230
 
Kimberly Sullivan
Master teacher
Violin/Suzuki
kimberly.sullivan@nau.edu
928-523-3731
 
Shelley Rich
Master teacher
Violin/Suzuki
shelley.rich@nau.edu
928-523-3731
 
Dr. Louise Scott
Master teacher
Violin/Suzuki/pedagogy
louise.scott@nau.edu
928-523-3879
 
Kari Barton
Professional teacher
Fiddle/Suzuki
kari@livingtraditionspresentations.com
928-600-1365

Kristina Beachell
Professional teacher
Suzuki
k.beachell@excite.com
928-452-5895

Aria Christiansen
Suzuki intern teacher
aria.christiansen@nau.edu
352-262-5101
 
Kaylene King
Suzuki intern teacher
kmk272@nau.edu
520-665-9918
 
Aryn Walton
Suzuki intern teacher
alw342@nau.edu
 
Patricia Cole
Suzuki intern teacher
pjc69@nau.edu
480-776-7245
 
Sam Mitchell
Suzuki intern teacher
sam337@nau.edu
602-751-1052
 
Kayla White
Suzuki intern teacher
kw239@nau.edu
(480) 628-6213
 
Belinca Complot
Suzuki intern teacher
bc424@nau.edu
(702) 327-7292
 
Elyse Pauda
Suzuki intern teacher
ep83@nau.edu
(928) 310-6407
 
Katie Wilson
Suzuki intern teacher
kw346@nau.edu
(480) 254-4537
 
Emily Deaton
Suzuki intern teacher
ed52@nau.edu
(480) 888-6421
 
Kristen Tourville
Suzuki intern teacher
fiddlingshamrock@gmail.com
(602) 692-8953
 
Alex Young
Suzuki intern teacher
all74@nau.edu
(602) 616-8235

Student teachers

Thank you for all the hard work you put into teaching each and every one of your students. You are each changing the world of music and enriching your students’ lives. We couldn’t run the academy without all of your efforts.

Employment application
Student teacher policy  

Reporting hours

Hours should be reported EVERY TWO WEEKS using the timesheets available in the academy office. Hours must be entered no later than 5PM on the Friday afternoon before pay week. Late or un-entered hours will NOT be compensated so please keep on schedule!

*Please keep in mind that we are tracking your hours internally as well to make sure the required hours are being completed and that no extra lessons are being offered or claimed.